new to me Harman super magnum

creekscout

Post by creekscout » Wed. Oct. 30, 2019 7:29 pm

Hello, I am a new member as I found this site yesterday after I bought a super magnum and was searching the web for any info on this stove. I have been using a Harman CW30 for the last 10 years, but this year I was looking to upgrade to a different stove as replacement parts for the CW30 are becoming scarce. I have been searching for a Mark II or Mark III Harman but then a listing on CL showed up yesterday morning and I could not pass it up. I have not even unloaded it from my truck yet but I am really anxious to get it in the basement in a day or two. I am sure I will have many questions in the coming days. I have read some posts and I have never heard of a manometer. I also am going to have to purchase a barometric damper, any recommendations? That is all for now, glad I found this site.

McGiever
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: BUCKET A DAY water heater
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Warm Morning 414A
Coal Size/Type: PEA,NUT,STOVE /ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump and some Solar

Post by McGiever » Wed. Oct. 30, 2019 10:48 pm

Welcome! :)

Fields Type RC barometric draft damper is most popular one, Fields also makes a Type M for coal.

creekscout

Post by creekscout » Thu. Oct. 31, 2019 6:52 am

McGiever, Thank you for your welcome and your recommendation, I will look for a fields damper.

creekscout

Post by creekscout » Thu. Oct. 31, 2019 7:02 am

Okay, I found this one online, will that be a good choice, also does it matter whether it is installed in a vertical or horizontal section of the stove pipe?

McGiever

Post by McGiever » Thu. Oct. 31, 2019 10:59 am

No, they can be installed in any position of pipe, but needs to be installed both plumb and level to be accurate.

captcaper

Post by captcaper » Fri. Nov. 01, 2019 7:48 am