Coal furnace Maintenance ?

coaltime
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line 110k btu
Coal Size/Type: rice

Post by coaltime » Thu. Sep. 12, 2019 6:38 pm

Hi, I have a leisure line coal furnace hot air 110k btu's. I recently purchased it used and it needs to be cleaned. I am new to coal and have tried searching online on how to clean it out and what I should check to make sure it is safe to use with no luck. I am going to replace the cord around both doors. Can someone please steer me in the right direction? Thank you

cabinover
Stoker Coal Boiler: Hybrid Axeman Anderson 130
Baseburners & Antiques: Sparkle #12
Coal Size/Type: Pea, Buckwheat, Nut
Other Heating: LP Hot air. WA TX for coal use.

Post by cabinover » Thu. Sep. 12, 2019 7:06 pm

Easy partner, no need to post twice on different parts of the forum. :D

I have no idea but someone will come along soon and answer your question or ask for pictures of your furnace...did I mention we love pictures? You are in luck as we're coming into the heating season and folks start reappearing from their summer naps about this time. Sit back, search a little, and enjoy. Great bunch of folks here that live to help each other save money and stay warm.

Welcome to the forum!

coaltime
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line 110k btu
Coal Size/Type: rice

Post by coaltime » Thu. Sep. 12, 2019 7:21 pm

I didn't mean to post it twice but I accidentally posted it in the wrong spot but didn't know how to delete the first one. Sorry about that.

Rob R.
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Jr

Post by Rob R. » Thu. Sep. 12, 2019 7:27 pm

Welcome.

Making sure the unit is clean and has good gaskets is a great start. Some of the motors might require a drop or two of oil, and there is likely a way to clean out fines from under the grate. The Leisure Line experts will walk you through that stuff.