KA-6 Stoker Assembly

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
User avatar
218Bee
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed. May. 07, 2008 10:19 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA-6
Location: Central, NY

Post Sun. Jul. 13, 2008 11:10 am

Hey all,

My stoker has a pair of machine screws and bolts at the end of the fire self. See the pic.

These are loose.

Am I correct in assuming they should be tightened? My wife says I've got a screw loose :roll:

Thanks
Attachments
stoker-screws.jpg
Loose screw
Rick

It was just my imagination
running away with me...

User avatar
jpen1
Member
Posts: 614
Joined: Sat. Nov. 04, 2006 4:46 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: LL110
Coal Size/Type: Rice/ Buck
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: 110 Boiler
Location: Bloomsburg, PA

Post Sun. Jul. 13, 2008 11:33 am

Yes those screws should be snugged down but not super tight . However if they have come loose you probly need to shut it down and take tyhe grates out and reseal them with furnace cement as with the screws being loose the old cement has probably fallen out.

User avatar
218Bee
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed. May. 07, 2008 10:19 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA-6
Location: Central, NY

Post Sun. Jul. 13, 2008 1:42 pm

Thanks, jpen.

This is a new unit, never been fired, fresh from the factory. I have seen any cement or debris coming out of the stoker.
Are they cemented from the factory? The grates are snug in the assembly.
Rick

It was just my imagination
running away with me...


stokin-railroad
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun. May. 18, 2008 2:53 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: koker 160k
Location: NY./PA.border I 81

Post Sun. Jul. 13, 2008 3:04 pm

the loose screws that you are talking should be tightened,probably over looked at factory.the grates do have cement on them but only on the back near the stoker unit, don't put cement on entire grate and cover the air holes in grate.cement at the rear of air holes to front of stoker unit,cemet at that joint is to prevent back firing burning into hopper.

User avatar
218Bee
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed. May. 07, 2008 10:19 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA-6
Location: Central, NY

Post Sun. Jul. 13, 2008 9:34 pm

Thanks, stokin.

I tightened them down, but didn't disassemble the unit.

The grates are secured tight to the stoker body, it didn't take but a turn to tighten them.

Thanks for the help.
Rick

It was just my imagination
running away with me...

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”