delivery of coal. manual says wet is bad

darnskewered
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Magnum Stoker
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Rice Coal

Post by darnskewered » Sat. Jan. 26, 2019 10:05 am

I'm new to coal stoves (first season using one, have had mine going for a few weeks now, replaced a couple of parts) Still using a pile of coal previous owner of this house left. I just discovered in my coal stove manual that usually coal is delivered wet and that it is not a good idea to burn wet coal. I assumed wet meant water. However, the local company who will deliver coal tells me they have oil on theirs. This sounds like it should be safe to put in the hopper, i.e. less chance of rust. Thoughts?

titleist1

Post by titleist1 » Sat. Jan. 26, 2019 10:39 am

Lightly oiled coal or slightly damp (water) coal is OK. Generally the oiling is done just enough to keep dust down. Rice coal that has been water washed just before delivery will likely be too wet to go right into the hopper.

Any coal that is wet enough to sludge things up will likely cause problems with coal feed and burn.

Harman feels strongly enough about the wet coal warning they put it on the bottom of every page of the manual.

darnskewered

Post by darnskewered » Mon. Feb. 04, 2019 8:48 am

titleist1 wrote:
Sat. Jan. 26, 2019 10:39 am
Lightly oiled coal or slightly damp (water) coal is OK. Generally the oiling is done just enough to keep dust down. Rice coal that has been water washed just before delivery will likely be too wet to go right into the hopper.

Any coal that is wet enough to sludge things up will likely cause problems with coal feed and burn.

Harman feels strongly enough about the wet coal warning they put it on the bottom of every page of the manual.
Got my first delivery of coal. They told me theirs is treated with oil and shouldn't be wet and that they have some kind of roof over their coal before delivery. But they also said when THEY get it it arrives having been washed.