Coal ash from Harman Mag Stoker

Coalnoob
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Mag Stoker
Other Heating: Propane forced air furnace, Wood stove

Post by Coalnoob » Sun. Oct. 28, 2018 10:21 pm

This is my first year burning coal, I am using a used Harman Mag Stoker. I have burned it for about a week now and it is producing heat very well. I set the verti flow settings to factory simply for a safe place to start. I am wondering what my ashes in the ash pan should look like? Because I have never burned coal before I do not know if my unit is operating efficiently or not in regards to the complete burning of the rice coal. I do know the unit is not over firing or going out which is a good thing thus far. I simply want to make my unit as efficient as possible without losing money on wasted unburned coal. Thanks for the help.

titleist1

Post by titleist1 » Mon. Oct. 29, 2018 7:08 am

Here is a pic of my ashes. This is about two days worth. What does yours look like and what are your idle fire timer settings? Mine are about 2 min on and 12 min off, i haven't used a stop watch on it yet this year but it is close to that.
20181029_064059.jpg
.JPG | 181.2KB | 20181029_064059.jpg

Coalnoob

Post by Coalnoob » Tue. Oct. 30, 2018 10:06 pm

I am at the factory recommended settings of on time 4, off time 12, and distribution blower 2. I have about half a pan of ashes per day. It does look similar to yours. It’s heating about half my house right now. It’s long, all one level, no basement unfortunately. I have it hooked to a Honeywell programmable thermostat. I got it used and replaced a few parts. So far so good and it is a well built stove for sure.

Mattw205
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska stoker 2

Post by Mattw205 » Fri. Nov. 02, 2018 9:36 am

i cant comment on the stove settings at all as i dont have any experience with it but as far as the ash goes, looks very similar to what my stove produces.

captcaper

Post by captcaper » Sun. Nov. 04, 2018 1:21 am