Coal Trol, Is It Worth It?

ad356

Post by ad356 » Sat. Sep. 01, 2018 9:53 pm

i have been burning coal since 2015. i already have my supply ready for the winter. i have to do some work to the door on my keystoker, and i was thinking about MAYBE buying a coal trol, but im not entirely set on the idea. is it worth it? does it really save what they claim 11% in the bitter cold and aprox 25% in more mild weather. i am reading it eliminates the need for manual stoker adjustment, perhaps this would be an advantage for my wife who does not really like making those adjustments when i am at work. how do i you set up a coal trol on keystoker 90k? im guessing you just rewire all of the motors with plugs?

bottom line, does it make operation more handsfree and simpler, and does it save money in the long run..... is there a payback?
Last edited by Richard S. on Tue. Sep. 04, 2018 7:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Changed title, please try and use descriptive titles. Thanks.

2001Sierra
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90 Chimney vent
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Buderus Oil Boiler 3115-34

Post by 2001Sierra » Sun. Sep. 02, 2018 8:05 pm

Do you have temperature overshoots now? Do you have trouble with the low fires?
Another feature I like that may be worth the investment is the ability to advance the feed to get a litlle temp lift or the ability to both slow or speed up the convection blower. I also use HLF which is heat loss factor which also changes the way the stove behaves.

ad356

Post by ad356 » Sun. Sep. 02, 2018 9:36 pm