CO emitting from stack of Keystoker 105

seth928
Stoker Coal Boiler: keystoker 105
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: propane forced air furnace (backup to coal)

Post by seth928 » Thu. Feb. 15, 2018 10:58 am

Hello, for starters i am brand new to heating with coal (only 1 month into it). I bought a used keystoker 105 that is in good condition. Everything appears to be operating normal. However i am getting 25 PPM of CO from the stack. I do not have it hooked to duct work, it just free flows out of the top of the stack at the stove into my basement. It is a direct vent out of the rear of the stove. Burning Rice coal.

I have checked with a CO meter all around the stove and there appears to be no leaks anywhere around the stove, the CO is about 20 around the stove but highest (25) where the heat blows out of the stack. CO ranges from 7-22 PPM throughout the house, so i need to fix this.

I am in Syracuse, NY the weather has been anywhere from 0-40 degrees F. However it is direct vent so i dont think the weather should affect the vent.

how can i fix this?

Thank you in advance

franco b
Site Moderator
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea

Post by franco b » Thu. Feb. 15, 2018 11:06 am

If the direct vent blower is at the stove, then anything beyond that blower is under positive pressure and must be perfectly sealed. I would coat all vent pipe connections with high temp silicone.

titleist1

Post by titleist1 » Thu. Feb. 15, 2018 11:09 am

Welcome to the forum Seth....You are correct to be very concerned about this!!

Please shut it down until you get a manometer so you can measure draft and set the direct vent and combustion blower correctly.

In addition to what Franco said about sealing the flue pipe...