Time for new stove?

Goodcoal
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker Econo 90
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by Goodcoal » Thu. Jan. 11, 2018 11:25 am

I’ve been using this site for a few years as I learn how to best utilize my old 1992 Keystoker 90k stove. Lots of good advice to be found, so I thought I’d post.
The stove I have is obviously older, but I’ve replaced glass, gaskets, both blowers, cleaned an recemented grate, added damper, manometer, and tried to maintain to the best of my ability.

I have about 1000 sq ft basement with 1000 sq ft first floor, and the stove does a decent job until it gets below 20 outside. I have a small 4 inch duct from front of stove to living room upstairs, open stairway is cold air return. Mix of old and newer windows upstairs.

Below 20 outside and the stove struggles to go above 64ish. Do I stand to benefit from a newer 105k but stove with electronic controls, or do you think I’m pretty much maxed out for what I have in my house? I do not have ducting in my house, just the makeshift 4 inch from stove to register. I like the idea of updating stove, but I’m not sure it’s worth the investment for just 15k btu.

Any thoughts?

Den034071
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer, 3095

Post by Den034071 » Thu. Jan. 11, 2018 11:43 am

Basement walls insulated .

Goodcoal

Post by Goodcoal » Thu. Jan. 11, 2018 11:51 am

Basement is insulated. Carpet and pad over much of the floor. Newer slider doors installed. I’ll post some pics of my setup when I get a chance.

michaelanthony
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vigilant 2310, gold marc box stove
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Gold Marc Independence
Baseburners & Antiques: Home Sparkle 12
Coal Size/Type: 'nut
Other Heating: Fujitsu mini split, FHA oil furnace

Post by michaelanthony » Thu. Jan. 11, 2018 12:38 pm

Goodcoal wrote:
Thu. Jan. 11, 2018 11:25 am
I’ve been using this site for a few years as I learn how to best utilize my old 1992 Keystoker 90k stove. Lots of good advice to be found, so I thought I’d post.