Help me get my Grandmother burning coal

fastlane4
Other Heating: Electric Ceiling Heat

Post by fastlane4 » Sat. Nov. 04, 2017 7:51 pm

I'm looking for some help installing a coal stove in my grandmother's house. She currently has a wood burning insert in her basement. Her and my grandfather burnt wood their entire lives, however he passed away in 2004. I've been cutting and splitting all her wood ever since but it's still a lot of work for her. She's almost 75. We store the wood in her garage but she has to lug it all in her house and tend the stove frequently. I've been using a Harman magnum in my own home for 3 years now and I love it. I have her convinced it'll be much easier than wood.
My problem is i dont know how to install a stove to a chimney that was built for an insert. We looked at the coal burning inserts from Hitzer but I think they require almost as much work as wood.

Here's my plan: block off the insert with sheet metal and fire proof silicone. Use some fiberglass insulation to help block off the smoke shelf where there used to be a damper and add a thimble to connect to the stove.

Will this work? I've added a photo of roughly what I want to do as well as several photos of her current setup.

Her chimney has a clay liner. It's roughly 6 1/2"x10". My plan was to install the thimble at about 5' from the bottom mantle. Would be just above the shelf in the pictures.

Attachments

IMG_1448.JPG
.JPG | 698.8KB | IMG_1448.JPG
IMG_1449.JPG
.JPG | 740.9KB | IMG_1449.JPG
IMG_1450.JPG
.JPG | 742.4KB | IMG_1450.JPG
IMG_1451.JPG
.JPG | 744.2KB | IMG_1451.JPG
IMG_1452.JPG
.JPG | 831.4KB | IMG_1452.JPG
IMG_1453.JPG
.JPG | 983.2KB | IMG_1453.JPG
IMG_1454.JPG
.JPG | 1.1MB | IMG_1454.JPG
IMG_1455.JPG
.JPG | 785.9KB | IMG_1455.JPG
IMG_1456.JPG
.JPG | 615.6KB | IMG_1456.JPG
IMG_1457.JPG
.JPG | 1.3MB | IMG_1457.JPG
IMG_1458.JPG
.JPG | 694.8KB | IMG_1458.JPG
IMG_1459.JPG
.JPG | 126.4KB | IMG_1459.JPG
IMG_1459.JPG
.JPG | 126.4KB | IMG_1459.JPG

windyhill4.2