Help for a new stoker user

untitled73

Post by untitled73 » Thu. Oct. 26, 2017 1:57 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm trying to heat a two-story, 2000 sq-ft garage. Unfortunately, it seems I've procrastinated a bit and that we're about a week away from perpetual 30 degree weather.

What I've bought myself is an old original Alaska Stoker Stove (much bigger than the current model, more alike the model that is now the Stoker II). It came with a surrounding enclosure with two fans attached and an HVAC port on the top. It also has an extended hopper.

I'm actually new to coal furnaces and I just have a few questions about how this thing works exactly... Does the gap between the hopper and the extender need to be completely sealed? Hell, should there be almost no air gaps at all coming out of the hopper?

Secondly, there's this strange asbestos-y rope-type stuff that seems to seal the front door of the thing, but a piece of it fell off. How important is it that this is completely sealed??

Right now this thing is sitting in the cellar of this garage.... My plan was to run two different HVAC pipes, one to a smaller room on the second floor and one to a larger room on the first floor... Does anyone have any idea if this is logistically stupid??

Thanks SO much if you could help. I'm really rushing to get all this done and realize that not thinking through this stuff makes for a dangerous situation.

untitled73

Post by untitled73 » Thu. Oct. 26, 2017 2:05 pm

Here's a picture illustrating what I intend to do:

windyhill4.2
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1960 EFM520 installed in truck box
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane 404 with variable blower
Coal Size/Type: 404-nut, 520 rice ,anthracite for both

Post by windyhill4.2 » Thu. Oct. 26, 2017 2:19 pm

I guess it is time to find your blue marker & indicate where the return air ducts will be. You will need return air to make it work.

untitled73

Post by untitled73 » Thu. Oct. 26, 2017 2:42 pm