Stoker Cost of Operation

rivermede

Post by rivermede » Sun. Jun. 01, 2008 10:28 am

I am a newbie here and am having trouble understanding the cost of using a stoker. I have seen that the EFM stoker can go as low as 2.5 pounds per hour which means 60 pounds per day or about one ton per month! At $300 per ton in Maine this comes to $3600 per year at the lowest feed rate. This just does not compute for me. How is this a savings? Presently I burn about 400 gallons of oil a year for heat and hot water supplemented with a wood stove burning 4 cords of wood at about $100 per cord. Even at $4 per gallon for oil my yearly cost would be $2000 total. And I am sure during the dead of winter the coal stove would be eating coal at much more than 2.5 pounds per hour. I seem to still be ahead even at $200 a ton coal. Is 60 pounds per day the smallest amount of coal that will keep a stoker going? it seems that for me converting to coal does not make much sense.

cArNaGe

Post by cArNaGe » Sun. Jun. 01, 2008 10:43 am

rivermede wrote:I am a newbie here and am having trouble understanding the cost of using a stoker. I have seen that the EFM stoker can go as low as 2.5 pounds per hour which means 60 pounds per day or about one ton per month! At $300 per ton in Maine this comes to $3600 per year at the lowest feed rate. This just does not compute for me. How is this a savings? Presently I burn about 400 gallons of oil a year for heat and hot water supplemented with a wood stove burning 4 cords of wood at about $100 per cord. Even at $4 per gallon for oil my yearly cost would be $2000 total. And I am sure during the dead of winter the coal stove would be eating coal at much more than 2.5 pounds per hour. I seem to still be ahead even at $200 a ton coal. Is 60 pounds per day the smallest amount of coal that will keep a stoker going? it seems that for me converting to coal does not make much sense.