Battery Backup With Pics

2biz
Other Heating: Leisure Line AK-110, Propane logs, Propane Ceramic 3 Burner Heater

Post by 2biz » Thu. Feb. 16, 2017 8:40 pm

So this might not be posted in the right place, but it will be once I get my new Stoker in place!

I'm new to the forum and have been snooping around to see how many topics have been started about Battery Backups...Not as many as I would have thought...And many topics asking "How To" v/s ones offering up systems that actually work as designed.

I have been heating my house with a forced air furnace for about 25 years. Just a few years ago and after getting lucky for so many years, I set out to solve the problem of having an over-heated stove due to a power outage when we were away from home. My wife and I both work, so the backup system was designed to keep the furnace blower going long enough to avoid over-heating till we would get home from work...Minimum run time I was looking for was 8-10 hours. After that, the amount of fire and coals in the stove wouldn't be an issue.

So I'm here to share what I came up with....

Aims Power, 12v to 120v, 1500 Watt Pure Sine Auto Switching Inverter Charger, with 3000w surge, built in 35a auto-charger,
p/n PICOGLF10W12V120VR
(4) 242ah 6v deep cycle batteries wired 2 series 2 parallel to get 484ah @ 12v
Converting to 120v not counting for inefficiencies in the inverter is 48.4ah @ 120v
Mathematically, that capacity should run my furnace appr. 16 hours (Furnace Blower uses 3.0a)
The Inverter will shut down at 11.5v or @ about 50% battery capacity remaining that runs the furnace blower appr 8-10 hours