Thinking of Buying a Coal/Wood/Oil Furnace;Any Advice?

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
johnlen3
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon. May. 05, 2008 4:24 pm

Post Mon. May. 05, 2008 4:29 pm

Harman Stove Co. has a model SF-2600-SS. It is a coal/wood/oil furnace.Does anybody have any advice or experience with this? Thanks!

User avatar
ceccil
Member
Posts: 1062
Joined: Sat. Mar. 15, 2008 11:33 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Mark III
Location: Elmira, NY

Post Mon. May. 05, 2008 4:55 pm

I do not own one or have any experience with them but I have read many posts about them. I will not tell you what to do as the decision is yours but many have said to get the multi fueled units you must sacrafice how efficiently the unit works. I myself burn only coal and love it. If you look around this forum some more you will find more info on these units. I'm sure some others from here will give you some very good advice also. If you can't get the right advice on this forum, it doesn't exist!!! Good luck.
Jeff
Loyalty to the country always. Loyalty to the government when it deserves it. - Mark Twain

johnlen3
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon. May. 05, 2008 4:24 pm

Post Mon. May. 05, 2008 5:09 pm

What do you do when you have to go away during the winter with a coal only stove in order to prevent freezing pipes?

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9826
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Mon. May. 05, 2008 5:40 pm

johnlen3 wrote:What do you do when you have to go away during the winter with a coal only stove in order to prevent freezing pipes?
Most of us have left the existing heat source, be it oil, gas or propane and added the coal unit to the system. It can easily be automated and gives you 100% backup. The best part is you don't have to spend a lot of extra money for the add on oil option on your coal burner.
Nothing is impossible for people who don't have to do it themselves.


User avatar
ceccil
Member
Posts: 1062
Joined: Sat. Mar. 15, 2008 11:33 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Mark III
Location: Elmira, NY

Post Mon. May. 05, 2008 5:50 pm

As coaledsweat said, most have left current system in place. In my case I have removed old gas furnace and run coal alone. I have a newer furnace to install but have not got around to it yet. I thing you shoud provide some more info on your situation so others can give you the best advice. Do you currently have oil, propane, gas, etc. and is your system currently hot water, forced air etc. Give it a day or so and there should be more replies to help you with your decision.
Jeff
Loyalty to the country always. Loyalty to the government when it deserves it. - Mark Twain

johnlen3
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon. May. 05, 2008 4:24 pm

Post Mon. May. 05, 2008 9:26 pm

My existing system is an oil burner/forced air unit.I have a propane water heater.I live in a a big old Victorian and I need to break from the oil.The house is not insulated and windows are very, very old.We are going to buy some heavy duty drapes to try and stop the drafts;at least until we can put in new windows.We are seriously thinking of buying a combo unit/oil/wood/coal from Harman stoves.The unit is the SF-2600-SS.Thanks again!

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9826
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Mon. May. 05, 2008 11:02 pm

If its a drafty house, I would go with a boiler. Put a coil in the present systems plenum and plumb your new coal boiler to it. You can run the blower slow and continuous and you won't feel any drafts. It will eliminate heating your hot water with propane too. When the coal goes out, your oil takes over.
Nothing is impossible for people who don't have to do it themselves.

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”