Barometric Damper Stove Now Going Out at Night

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
jsang
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun. Mar. 02, 2008 10:33 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman Magnum

Post Mon. Mar. 31, 2008 9:11 am

I put the barometric damper in. My Harman stoker has gone out at night the first two nights I have it in. What adjustments do I need to make?

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Mon. Mar. 31, 2008 10:24 am

Checking the draft with a draft gauge and setting the weights accordingly on the baro damper. Do you have the RC Field Controls Baro Damper.

If installed vertically, the weight knob should be on the RIGHT and adjusted up to the .02-.04 setting (approx). YOu should be able to blow on it and it should open and move freely. You really need to check it with a guage.

You may have to turn the min. Settings on the stove up a bit when it's on idle. What type of adjustments do you have on the stove?
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

jsang
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun. Mar. 02, 2008 10:33 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman Magnum

Post Mon. Mar. 31, 2008 11:43 am

3min on and 12 min off. My flow rate is 1 and 3/4 dots.


User avatar
beatle78
Member
Posts: 1026
Joined: Wed. Oct. 03, 2007 1:46 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker KA-4
Location: Rhode Island

Post Mon. Mar. 31, 2008 12:08 pm

A couple of notes.

When the stove is calling for heat the red coals should be ~1" from the end the grate.

I have had problems keeping my Magnum lit with the same settings. I took the recommendation from other members here and plugged the burner blower motor directly into the wall socket. It keep the coal lit when the stove is idle for long periods. I've have NEVER had my stove go out with the motor plugged directly into the wall outlet/power strip.

User avatar
Matthaus
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1929
Joined: Mon. Oct. 02, 2006 8:59 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110 Dual Fuel, natural gas
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Lil' Heater (rental house)
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Buckwheat Anthracite
Location: Wilkes Barre, PA

Post Mon. Mar. 31, 2008 12:42 pm

Beatle has the right info, you need to reset your pilot level and provide more combustion air since the draft is now being controlled and is less. So once you verify the draft and set the weight per Dave's instruction you just need to reset pilot burn level for your new draft.

As a side note it is common to have to tweak the stove settings even with a small thing like changing coal supplier. :)

Keep us posted on your progress with solving this little annoyance. :D
Matthaus
Leisure Line Stove Company
http://www.leisurelinestoves.com/

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Mon. Mar. 31, 2008 2:32 pm

That;s probalby why I have never had mine flame out, the combustion blowers runs all the time and do not vary with burn rates. I forgot about that. :)
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”