Florence HB No.68 - Refurb...

Ky Speedracer
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Florence HotBlast NO.68 & Potbelly
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: HotBlast 1557M
Coal Size/Type: Ky Lump & Anthracite Nut
Other Heating: Oil

Post by Ky Speedracer » Mon. Oct. 12, 2015 11:22 pm

I found a Florence HotBlast stove on a trip through eastern KY today. A lady had been using it for a decoration and then decided she was done with it.
I have to admit, I'm a total rookie when it comes to evaluating stoves and what their potential value may be. I picked it up for $200. I don't know if that's a deal or not but I can tell you that I have pissed away a lot more money on things in the past that were likely worth a lot less...lol.
The only knowledge I have of these stoves is what I've read here on this forum. As most of you probably know, I live in KY and burn bit. From what I understand the Florence Hot Blast's are right at the top of the food chain when it comes to their ability to effectively burn bit. I have been researching these on here with the thought of adding secondary burn capabilities to my other Hotblast (the modern day Hotblast that most on here don't seem to like...lol). Honestly I'm not even sure where I'll use it. It's pretty big. I have a small shop that's only about 500 square feet. My guess is that it would run me out of there. And, it's not an "add-on furnace" like my other HB is so It's really not a candidate to replace that.
Now that I have it, I'm considering doing a complete refurbish on it. It appears to be complete (at least to my novice eye). Right down to original lid-lifter that is is designed to lift lids with one end and attaches to the grate for shaking on the other (Maybe that's not that big of a deal but I thought it was pretty cool).