Stove Suddenly Stopped Working

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
tahoe
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue. Mar. 04, 2008 7:10 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing

Post Tue. Mar. 04, 2008 7:18 pm

We own an Alaska Channing III which is directly vented because we do not have a chimney. this evening the whole motor/blower stopped running. We checked the power supply and it was not that. Does anyone have any idea why it would just quit?

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Tue. Mar. 04, 2008 7:41 pm

Is it getting power? Is there a reset button? (If not, it's your blower motor)
Last edited by Devil505 on Tue. Mar. 04, 2008 7:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
War is a game that is played with a smile. If you can't smile, grin. If you can't grin, keep out of the way till you can.
Winston Churchill
Shaking & Poking The TLC2000 Video

tahoe
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue. Mar. 04, 2008 7:10 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing

Post Tue. Mar. 04, 2008 7:43 pm

yes, we checked the outlet and there is power.


Jerry & Karen
Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon. Jan. 23, 2006 7:30 pm
Location: Berwick, pa
Contact:

Post Tue. Mar. 04, 2008 7:43 pm

Tahoe,
Check your WMO-1 safety switch. If your pipes are dirty or your venter hasn't been cleaned it awhile, then that's the problem.
Jerry

tahoe
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue. Mar. 04, 2008 7:10 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing

Post Tue. Mar. 04, 2008 7:58 pm

Just checked the WMO-1 switch, we seem to have power now. Thanks for suggesting it. We'll see if it keeps running.

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7385
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Tue. Mar. 04, 2008 8:19 pm

Have you cleaned the direct vent fan/motor assembly and the flue/exhaust pipe lately??? When these get clogged with flyash, then the WMO-1 switch will open and shut the stove down to prevent Carbon Monoxide from being forced into the living space..

Greg L
.
Burning Pea/Buckwheat through an antique stoker [semi retired SSboiler],
Running an Axeman-Anderson 260M boiler burning Pea, About 150-250#per day
Farming, Fixing, Fabricating and Flying: 'spare time' what's that?

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”