Convection Fan Issues w/Coal-Trol on my Reading Juanita Coal Stoker

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
craige
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed. Mar. 18, 2015 5:51 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading RSFD- Utility
Coal Size/Type: rice

Post Wed. Mar. 18, 2015 6:25 pm

I have coaltrol on my Reading Juniata coal stoker. It is the t2 version. I had it shut down
for 2 weeks, now I can't get the convection blower to run automaticly. I can run it plugged
into a seperate power outlet. I used the extended menu to test the unit and the blower
started. Next I set the coaltrol to the factory spec's and the blower will still not start.
I am at a loss, what next?

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 5997
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Wed. Mar. 18, 2015 6:58 pm

This needs moved to the Coal trol section.
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9822
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Wed. Mar. 18, 2015 7:46 pm

Well that's done. There should be a Wizard showing up soon.
Nothing is impossible for people who don't have to do it themselves.


User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Wed. Mar. 18, 2015 8:05 pm

If the temp is satisfied, and your FR=0 (feed rate) or is very low, the convection blower will not be running. The convection blower speed is based on Feed Rate.

what is the room temp vs. the setpoint? if the setpoint is below the room temp when you start the stove, the blower will not come on until it reaches a certain feed rate.

can you manually thru the menu select FSA vs FSM (fan speed Auto vs Fan Speed Manual) and raise it up manually to see if it controlling it. ?
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

craige
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed. Mar. 18, 2015 5:51 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading RSFD- Utility
Coal Size/Type: rice

Post Thu. Mar. 19, 2015 6:59 am

I ran the unit thru the extended menu test and the blower started like it should have. I have put in manfan and it will not start. Even with the FR at 65% I cannot get it to start.
The temp in the room was 66 with the t-stat set at 71. I even bumped the temp up to 78 and no luck. Confused

User avatar
dutch
Member
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon. Dec. 11, 2006 4:38 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska Channing III
Location: UPstate NY

Post Thu. Mar. 19, 2015 10:45 am

Have you contacted the guys at Coal-Trol to see if they have an idea of what may be going on?

i may be having an issue with the coal-trol running my convection fan also, and will be calling neil when I have
a few minutes to run thru some settings. I was getting an erratic fan issue but it's running
just fine plugged in direct.
currently running a Channing III in our basement,
feeding into cold air return and circulated with
forced air furnace.
love the even warm heat!
upstate NY, near Syracuse.


User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Thu. Mar. 19, 2015 5:28 pm

check your connections, on the fan plug, everything is plugged and tight. and the Thermostat plug *(cat 5 network cable), turn the unit off, unplug it and plug it back in and go thru the menus make sure the connections are clean.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

User avatar
pvolcko
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon. Jan. 16, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Post Sat. May. 16, 2015 3:14 pm

This is an odd problem. :)

As WNY said, make sure you have the convection blower plugged into the right outlet on the Coal-trol. When you're in test mode it will display the output it is turning on at that time so you can match things up.

If it runs in test mode, but not otherwise, it is making me think it is plugged into the wrong output.

If you verify this is not the issue, I'd suggest giving us a call at 315-299-3589 to run through some troubleshooting.
Paul Volcko
Coal-Trol Digital http://www.coaltroldigital.com/

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”