How Dusty Is It

Post Reply
User avatar
cArNaGe
Member
Posts: 1057
Joined: Wed. Dec. 12, 2007 11:34 pm
Location: Montrose, PA
Contact:

Post Mon. Feb. 25, 2008 11:48 pm

How dusty is it really?

Never having burned coal before.

If I'm using a auger feed system, then the only dust I will really see is filling the coal bin right?

Other than that it won't be any dustier than wood correct?

Some guys at work have my wife worried that its going to be super dusty.

O ya they opened a quarry up on my dirt road so I get about 300 dump trucks a day running by. Any dustier than that?

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7384
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Tue. Feb. 26, 2008 12:14 am

About that dusty, the trucks on the road that is..
I thought you were going to put your boiler where the outdoor wood boiler is?

There is dust from the loading of the coal hopper, there is dust from the handling of the ashpans, and cleaning up around the stove/boiler/furnace.. If you are careful, there will not me that much dust.. even if the boiler/furnace is in the house.

Greg L

User avatar
cArNaGe
Member
Posts: 1057
Joined: Wed. Dec. 12, 2007 11:34 pm
Location: Montrose, PA
Contact:

Post Tue. Feb. 26, 2008 12:24 am

Still undecided where to put it. My chimney needs rebuilt. Thats the main reason for me wanting to put it outside.

User avatar
BugsyR
Member
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed. Oct. 03, 2007 2:00 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker
Location: Madison TWP, Pa

Post Tue. Feb. 26, 2008 1:28 pm

First year burner here with a Keystoker 90K. I will say this...if it was "super dusty" my wife would be beating me daily. :D Yes there is dust but like Greg says, it depends on what you do and how you do it. Out in my shed/coal bin...lots of shoveling to fill those 5 gallon buckets to transport into the house, therefore lots of black coal dust. In the basement where the burner is, there is dust but you have to look for it. We haven't dusted the basement the whole heating season yet. Dust from ashes...I vacuum everyday. I make it part of the evening ash removal chore...takes me less than 5 minutes to add coal, remove ashes, and do a quick shop vac of the area. No extra dust upstairs in the living area.

I will say this though...I didn't know about this web site before I bought my Keystoker...If I did know about this site, I'd have a boiler outside.


User avatar
e.alleg
Member
Posts: 1285
Joined: Fri. Feb. 16, 2007 10:31 am
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM
Stove/Furnace Model: 520
Location: western ny

Post Tue. Feb. 26, 2008 8:04 pm

The key is to disturb the coal as little as possible. I put wet coal into the bin and take out the ashes when the pan is 1/2 full, dust is basically none. When I get in OCD mode and start sifting the coal and ashes looking for irregular pieces or whatever there is a dust cloud.

User avatar
Charlie Z
Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat. Dec. 23, 2006 9:39 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Coalbrookdale
Stove/Furnace Model: Darby
Location: North Fork, NY

Post Wed. Feb. 27, 2008 7:28 am

Going in: If my coal is dry, I wet it - no dust (and it seems to burn better with the fines clumped up). Have a hose with a mist head on it over your bin.

Ash: this is more the question: just work out a way to handle the bucket. I don't dump my ashpan (handfired) until outdoors and we have minimal dust in the living room.

User avatar
VigIIPeaBurner
Site Moderator
Posts: 2296
Joined: Fri. Jan. 11, 2008 10:49 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker Koker
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vermont Casting Vigilant II 2310
Other Heating: #2 Oil Furnace
Location: Pequest River Valley, Warren Co NJ

Post Wed. Feb. 27, 2008 8:41 am

Anybody using something other than a typical shop vac to clean up? Just wondering if the fine ash ends up bypassing the filter and becoming airborne by the vacuuming process. I've looked on line and seen set-ups for collecting dry wall & spackeling dust. Some even HEPA filters on them. $$s :!:

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9903
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Wed. Feb. 27, 2008 8:55 am

VigIIPeaBurner wrote:Anybody using something other than a typical shop vac to clean up? Just wondering if the fine ash ends up bypassing the filter and becoming airborne by the vacuuming process.
Yes, the ash will go right through most vac filters. A drywall bag is the ticket, it stops the ash and is cheap. ;)


User avatar
tvb
Member
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun. Dec. 02, 2007 8:13 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III

Post Wed. Feb. 27, 2008 11:48 am

You can change the filter on your shop-vac for one that is designed for ash. No reason to buy a new vac for $200. I have an old metal container one that works great for around the stove.

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11498
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Wed. Feb. 27, 2008 6:50 pm

VigIIPeaBurner wrote:Anybody using something other than a typical shop vac to clean up? Just wondering if the fine ash ends up bypassing the filter and becoming airborne by the vacuuming process. I've looked on line and seen set-ups for collecting dry wall & spackeling dust. Some even HEPA filters on them. $$s :!:
I bought a dust collection bag for my shop-vac. It installs inside the canister and collects all the material you vacuum up. With that and a drywall-dust rated filter, I don't get any blow-by. I vacuumed the fly ash out my stove pipe and flue outlet tonight, no dust.

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Wed. Feb. 27, 2008 6:58 pm

VigIIPeaBurner wrote:Anybody using something other than a typical shop vac to clean up? Just wondering if the fine ash ends up bypassing the filter and becoming airborne by the vacuuming process. I've looked on line and seen set-ups for collecting dry wall & spackeling dust. Some even HEPA filters on them. $$s :!:
Yes. I vacuum the dust off the top of the stove, etc with our central vac. Any fine particles that arent caught in the main canister are exhausted out of the house via a port. Works great!

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”