Alaska Channing III Stoves

Post Reply
Marshall
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon. Dec. 24, 2007 9:00 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III

Post Tue. Feb. 05, 2008 2:46 pm

Hello

I have an Alaska Channing III Stove, It is heat my 1875 2400 sqft house without any trouble in WNY. My stove as started to make noise when feeding coal, it sounds like a ticking noise. I took off the connecting arm last night, it was not loose and looked like it was in good shape. I then greased the fitting and manually moved the 1/2 moon shaped auger until it moved freely. To make a long story short, the noise is still there. Has anyone else had the same troubles??? any help would be nice.

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7384
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Tue. Feb. 05, 2008 2:52 pm

Hello Marshal, some additional information to help us help you:

Is the noise only noticable when you are loading coal, when the cover is off the coal hopper???
Did you try emptying the hopper completely, and look at the feeder to see if there is a large piece of coal or piece of rock causing the noise..

How frequent is the 'ticking' once every second, more frequent like from a motor? or less frequent??

Can you 'touch' the hopper, or the feed mechanism and 'feel' the noise??

I'd bet on a piece of rock or large coal being hit by the feeder bar. But I'm really just guessing..

Greg L

.

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5864
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Tue. Feb. 05, 2008 4:00 pm

You could have some coal or fines stuck in/around or under the pusher block area, you may have to unload it and remove the mechanism and clean it out good. It should work fine, just makes noise...my Hyfire does the same thing when it get something stuck under it, it makes a clicking noise when it stokes the coal....it sometimes goes away after a while if it wears the piece down enough.

On my Hyfire, you can drop the stoker mechanism and slide the plate back and forth to clear it out.


User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Tue. Feb. 05, 2008 4:35 pm

The two Channing III units that I have seen running both make the same tick tick tick sound when the stoker motor is running.

User avatar
jpen1
Member
Posts: 614
Joined: Sat. Nov. 04, 2006 4:46 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: LL110
Coal Size/Type: Rice/ Buck
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: 110 Boiler
Location: Bloomsburg, PA

Post Tue. Feb. 05, 2008 9:45 pm

The motors on the channing III units do make a destinctive noise which to me sounds like a wind up toy but softer. I haven't seen one yet that is basically silent. Does the feed motor make this sound the entire time it runs or only at certain points of the rotation. Was the paddle binding before you greased the shaft. If so You could have some fines down in the bushing and you will need to pull the paddle out and clean both the shaft and the bushing, insert and re grease .
Last edited by jpen1 on Wed. Feb. 06, 2008 8:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Marshall
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon. Dec. 24, 2007 9:00 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III

Post Wed. Feb. 06, 2008 9:28 am

The stove has gotten quiter in the last 24 hours on its own. The paddle was very stiff, I greased it and it started moving better. I think I may have had something stuck under the paddle. Do you think that the wet coal helps lube the paddle area???? My stove after I have run it real slow seems to start making this noise. I will keep everyone posted. Thanks for the help.

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”