Feed

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
em
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat. Oct. 29, 2005 6:54 pm
Location: Central Pa

Post Sat. Mar. 22, 2014 4:44 pm

We just replaced the motor on our Yellow Flame Coal Stoker and now the coal burns to powder (ash). We thought it was the feed, adjusted the turny circular thing that's attached to the gear box and is still not feeding faster. (I might add the turny thing next to the gear box has 4 holes to change feed we only went to the next hole and there is very little change). The reason we changed motors is the reset button kept popping. Furnace ran ok, every 15 min ran for 1 min as set in timer. Son says the old motor had a lot of play in it (shaft)??? Not sure what that means but if it helps someone to give us ideas of whats wrong thats why I added to post. Any suggestions?


User avatar
mozz
Member
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon. Sep. 17, 2007 5:27 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 1982 AA-130 Steam
Location: Wayne county PA.

Post Sat. Mar. 22, 2014 5:31 pm

Is the motor the same rpm as the one you took out?
Gouldsboro PA.

em
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat. Oct. 29, 2005 6:54 pm
Location: Central Pa

Post Sat. Mar. 22, 2014 5:47 pm

Oh I'm not sure when my son comes back I will ask him. But just in case what if its not?

User avatar
mozz
Member
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon. Sep. 17, 2007 5:27 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 1982 AA-130 Steam
Location: Wayne county PA.

Post Sat. Mar. 22, 2014 8:16 pm

I'm thinking some motors are 3450 rpm and others are 1750. You may have the wrong motor or wired for the wrong voltage 115/230. Not familiar with how that stoker runs.
Gouldsboro PA.

User avatar
StokerDon
Site Moderator
Posts: 3256
Joined: Mon. Nov. 11, 2013 11:17 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: BairMatic BMC-500 with Van Wert VA400 Stoker, Gentleman Janitor GJ-671/EFM S-15 stoker, Van Wert VA-600
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Harman SF3500
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Noth'in but COAL! Well, Maybe a little tiny bit of wood
Location: PA, Southern York County!

Post Sun. Mar. 23, 2014 10:33 am

Mozz is correct,

Intsalling a new motor on a Yellow Flame will NOT change the feed rate. The new motor must be running at a lower RPM.

From what I have read, the motor is the same as used on most common oil burners.
YFstokerMechResto4 008.JPG
motor
YFstokerMechResto4 001.JPG
feed rate adjust
It is interesting that you say your coal is burning to fine ash. If the motor is running at a lower RPM that means the combustion blower would be delivering less air, resulting in incomplete combustion.

My Yellow Flame never gives fine ash, I wish it did.

You could try increasing the feed rate until you have 2 inches or so of ash at the end of the grate. If you can get it there I would leave it.

If you could post some photos that would be helpful.

-Don
There are few problems in life that cannot be solved by lighting something on fire.

User avatar
StokerDon
Site Moderator
Posts: 3256
Joined: Mon. Nov. 11, 2013 11:17 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: BairMatic BMC-500 with Van Wert VA400 Stoker, Gentleman Janitor GJ-671/EFM S-15 stoker, Van Wert VA-600
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Harman SF3500
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Noth'in but COAL! Well, Maybe a little tiny bit of wood
Location: PA, Southern York County!

Post Sun. Mar. 23, 2014 11:03 am

I just went out and checked. The motor I am currently running and my spare are 1725 RPM motors.

-Don
There are few problems in life that cannot be solved by lighting something on fire.

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6009
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Sun. Mar. 23, 2014 1:02 pm

StokerDon wrote:Mozz is correct,

Intsalling a new motor on a Yellow Flame will NOT change the feed rate. The new motor must be running at a lower RPM.

From what I have read, the motor is the same as used on most common oil burners.
YFstokerMechResto4 008.JPG
YFstokerMechResto4 001.JPG
If you could post some photos that would be helpful.

-Don
About the motors being the same as those common oil burner type motor...It's true in most cases provided it's not a very early model.

Yours pictured above is NOT the common oil burner motor used for sometime now on EFM, Keystoker and prolly more.
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE

User avatar
StokerDon
Site Moderator
Posts: 3256
Joined: Mon. Nov. 11, 2013 11:17 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: BairMatic BMC-500 with Van Wert VA400 Stoker, Gentleman Janitor GJ-671/EFM S-15 stoker, Van Wert VA-600
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Harman SF3500
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Noth'in but COAL! Well, Maybe a little tiny bit of wood
Location: PA, Southern York County!

Post Sun. Mar. 23, 2014 1:59 pm

I think Yellow Flame went out of buisness in the late 70's or early 80's so whatever oil burner motor was common in the 60's and 70's is what they used. Maybe there not so common anymore?

The improtant points of a replacement motor are:

1) 120 volts AC

2) 60 hertz

3) 1/4 horse power

4) 1 phase

5) 1725 RPM

If you have one with these specs and you can couple it to the blower and gear box, it should work fine.

I know there is a lot of variation in the Yellow Flame stoker parts over the decades. It would be nice to see a photo of what we are dealing with here.

-Don
There are few problems in life that cannot be solved by lighting something on fire.


oilman
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat. Feb. 04, 2006 6:19 pm
Location: Central New York

Post Sun. Mar. 23, 2014 4:17 pm

Yellow Flame's days ended in the mid-90's. I was a dealer at the time. The fellow who owned it, Mr. O Brien, also owned Dynatherm Boiler Co. This was when coal sales were way down and the only units readily available were Yellow Flame and Keystoker. Van Wert had closed not too long before and EFM wasn't really doing much at the time.
Oil & Coal Burner Service Specialist

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11366
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Sun. Mar. 23, 2014 7:12 pm

Don, 1/4 hp seems like a lot for that stoker. It would be nice to know if that was factory spec. or if yours was just replaced with a larger motor sometime in its life.

User avatar
StokerDon
Site Moderator
Posts: 3256
Joined: Mon. Nov. 11, 2013 11:17 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: BairMatic BMC-500 with Van Wert VA400 Stoker, Gentleman Janitor GJ-671/EFM S-15 stoker, Van Wert VA-600
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Harman SF3500
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Noth'in but COAL! Well, Maybe a little tiny bit of wood
Location: PA, Southern York County!

Post Sun. Mar. 23, 2014 9:37 pm

Rob,

I agree, it is a lot, but it's like everything else on this stoker, overkill. I have 2 umits, both have the same spec motor, one is a Dayton and the other is a Marathon.

I have an oil burner here also. The motor on that is a 1/7th horse power and 3450 RPM. I wonder if later Yellow Flames used a 3450 RPM motor? It could be that em's stoker had a 3450 RPM motor and it was replace with a 1725 RPM motor.

oilman ,

Thank you for that info. I had no idea that Yellow Flame made it into the mid 90's. I wish they were still around, it's one very heavy duty machine!

-Don
There are few problems in life that cannot be solved by lighting something on fire.

em
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat. Oct. 29, 2005 6:54 pm
Location: Central Pa

Post Sun. Mar. 23, 2014 10:20 pm

The new motor is the same RPM as the one he removed. It has been running since 3 pm today (it's now 10:15) and it just seems to be taking longer than usual to warm up the house. Now, keep in mind its 26 degrees out so it is very cold. Also, this is a new load of coal he just picked up (My son hauls our coal) so now we are not sure could it be the coal??? It is still burning so much (seems like its burning so slow it is not turning to ash it seems like its turning to powder; almost like ash that was burned & burned and eventually it would turn to powder).

ART52
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat. Jun. 14, 2008 3:13 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystorker KA22
Coal Size/Type: rice
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM--46years--now Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA2
Location: Jim Thorpe,Pa

Post Mon. Mar. 24, 2014 3:49 pm

hi I cant tipe or spell right but . is the motor runing clock wise or conter clock wise ? if the fan is going backords the air cant get in :D in to fire. art52.

User avatar
StokerDon
Site Moderator
Posts: 3256
Joined: Mon. Nov. 11, 2013 11:17 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: BairMatic BMC-500 with Van Wert VA400 Stoker, Gentleman Janitor GJ-671/EFM S-15 stoker, Van Wert VA-600
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Harman SF3500
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Noth'in but COAL! Well, Maybe a little tiny bit of wood
Location: PA, Southern York County!

Post Mon. Mar. 24, 2014 7:21 pm

That's a very good question Art.

If the new motor is running the oposite direction, Counter ClockWise Vs ClockWise, the feed rate would not be affected BUT the blower would not work very well.

Again, photos would be very helpful.

-Don
There are few problems in life that cannot be solved by lighting something on fire.

em
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat. Oct. 29, 2005 6:54 pm
Location: Central Pa

Post Mon. Mar. 24, 2014 7:26 pm

Actually the fan is running correctly. My son took it all apart and turns out the side rails on the fire box on 1 side cracked and as he was removing it broke into 3 pieces. (It is an old unit and has years of hard use). We will be calling a place tomorrow that hopefully has them or can get them. Unless someone has any other ideas. No heat tonight (brrrrr) but at least we can go to my daughters 2 miles away for hot showers tonight. My son he will probably replace the grates also.

Does anyone from Pa on this board have any parts for a Yellow Flame in case of future problems?


Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”