Fly Ash

harley
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: keystoker koker
Coal Size/Type: rice

Post by harley » Wed. Mar. 19, 2014 10:41 pm

I am new to burning coal and installed a koker 160 a few months ago and it seems to be burning fine my draft is between .02 and .03 as per the instructions my problem is sometimes there is a strong sulfur oder I have 2 co detectors neither have alarmed the other day I noticed
what appears to be an area between the stove and the hopper where fly ash (a white powderey substanc) seems to be escaping it is an area about 3 inches long in the center of the width of the hopper all my other joints are sealed with high temp RTV I don't believe this is normal should this area be sealed or did I do something wrong HELP

olpanrider

Post by olpanrider » Thu. Mar. 20, 2014 2:08 am

clean the flu .. if it doesn't vent well your cumbustion air can go into the hopper. not good

Flyer5
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Pioneer

Post by Flyer5 » Thu. Mar. 20, 2014 8:16 am

olpanrider wrote:clean the flu .. if it doesn't vent well your cumbustion air can go into the hopper. not good
Go with this advice. You can still have good draft but not enough volume of exhaust. You could measure that by taking a reading in the base.

titleist1

Post by titleist1 » Thu. Mar. 20, 2014 8:21 am

As already stated it's time to crack open the flue pipe if you don't have a 'T' to access it and vac out the elbows and horizontal sections. After a couple months and running a couple tons through the unit fly ash will build up and cut down on the exhaust path. Good to hear you have the CO monitors!! :clap:

Also, if the inside of the stove hasn't been brushed down it is a good time to do that since it will improve your heat transfer from the firebox.

A koker owner will probably check in and let you know if there are any particular places to make sure you brush out.

freetown fred
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93