New Guy Questions.

olpanrider

Post by olpanrider » Thu. Mar. 13, 2014 2:34 pm

Hi All.

My name is Jeff I'm a grumpy old biker you got questions on old panheads or any Harley in general. ask me I'm your guy. but I'm new to coal so I thought I would run my plans by you guy's to get recommendations.

few weeks back I bought a Reading Juniata off craigslist. shop that sold it said it wouldn't keep there shop warm so after one winter they uninstalled it. when I went to go look at it I found out they where trying to heat a 10,000 sq ft building with 15+ ft ceilings (dummies). well anyway the stove looked and the blowers ran like new.
been seriously considering removing tri-burner squirrel cage and add a separate 50 cfm cumbustion blower. is it worth it? I have a new coal-trol (retail standard version) so I wont have any issues running it as either a tri burn or not.
my plans for installation in my 8" thick walled 768 sq ft log cabin (full basement only going to be heated by radiant heat from stove) is set it next to the propane forced air furnace. the cold air and supply ducts will pass directly over the the stove and there is already a 10" opening with flange in the return duct. so all I have to do is get a 10" to 6" reduced to hook it up to the stove convection port. what I think I will do is remove the convection blower and put a snap disc in the duct above the stove and wire it into the 24v terminal (R-G) terminal so that when the temperature rises it will kick on the furnace blower. suggestions on temp range of the disc would be very helpfull.
my water heater will be 6' away so I also plan on installing a dhw coil. its just my wife and I and its a 40 gallon tank so suggestions on coil size would be appreciated.

any and all suggestions will be appreciated
thanks in advance
Jeff

franco b
Site Moderator
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea