Need Some Advice on Harman DVC 500

Breakerboy
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman DVC 500
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Keystoker Oil Boiler Cast iron Standing Radiators

Post by Breakerboy » Tue. Mar. 11, 2014 4:02 am

I have been buring my stove since January of this year I moved into a new home and left my old behind.. So I'm fairly new to this unit.. First off let me explain my set up because it may be contributing to my problem.. My unit is installed in basement below grade so it's not vented directly straight out wall.. I had to purchase the additional square type pipe to vent it up 4 ft and out 1 ft above grade... My first issue came about after 1 month of burning at a medium setting , stove and pipe work were clean before start up.. One day I forgot to fill hopper with coal and it was low so I figured house was very warm so I would let stove all but burn and do a quick clean of fly ash build up inside stove after cleaning the inside of stove I loaded hopper back up and lit new fire after a few minutes I got 2 blink code error ??? Fire started to burn out .. So I start to panic but leave it go out now stove did not get 125 degrees at this point .. So I let it cool and start to think I didn't tamper with much of anything so what went wrong I basically scraped the walls shop vac inside good and the great area removed fire brick shop vac that removed ash bin shop vac the compartment cleaned glass and that was it... Why the 2 blink code??? So I decide to pull ash bin and behind ash bin I have a plate that kind of hangs there covering a exhaust almost triangular hole . So I pull plate and notice hole is all but blocked with fine fly ash so I suck that clean and start to think " well that's my exhaust so I wonder what square pipe looks like inside". Because it comes out say 24" to a 90 goes up 4ft then 90s again 24 " to above grade outside then my candy cane type pipe ... So I pull the big ash square interior piping off and sure enough it's loaded up not block