Stoker Glass

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
n0useforaname
Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun. Nov. 24, 2013 2:23 pm
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Baseboard Electric Backup
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA-6

Post Sat. Feb. 01, 2014 6:36 pm

Just got a Harman super mag stoker and it ROCKS. But so far I had to wipe the glass twice today because its dirting up. I was thinking that it wouldnt be this bad because Harman says to clean weekly. Anyone know why glass would get dirty like that?

User avatar
Carbon12
Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace
Location: Harrisburg, PA

Post Sat. Feb. 01, 2014 7:14 pm

Have you measured the draft?
No matter where you go,......there you are.

n0useforaname
Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun. Nov. 24, 2013 2:23 pm
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Baseboard Electric Backup
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA-6

Post Sat. Feb. 01, 2014 7:32 pm

Carbon12 wrote:Have you measured the draft?
No, but the guy who set it up said it was good to go. I have a menometer, but I need to find a plug that isnt plastic

User avatar
Carbon12
Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace
Location: Harrisburg, PA

Post Sat. Feb. 01, 2014 8:35 pm

What kind/brand of coal are you using?
No matter where you go,......there you are.


n0useforaname
Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun. Nov. 24, 2013 2:23 pm
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Baseboard Electric Backup
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA-6

Post Sat. Feb. 01, 2014 8:45 pm

Carbon12 wrote:What kind/brand of coal are you using?
I borrowed some from my friend because I cant get delivery till tuesday. So im not sure.

User avatar
tsb
Member
Posts: 1796
Joined: Wed. Jul. 30, 2008 8:38 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Binford 2000
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL Pioneer top vent
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Saey Hanover II
Baseburners & Antiques: Grander Golden Oak , Glenwood # 6
Coal Size/Type: All of them
Location: Douglassville, Pa

Post Sat. Feb. 01, 2014 10:41 pm

If you search the forum you'll find this topic discussed many times.
The truth is the glass will stay clean for just a short while. The
coal ash and heat just etch the crap out of the glass and haze it to
a nice foggy opaque lens. Enjoy the glow !
Coal -- It's not a hobby, It's an addiction.

snuffy
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Fri. Jan. 25, 2008 11:55 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman SF250 & Mark III backup
Other Heating: Oil Hot Water

Post Sat. Feb. 01, 2014 11:20 pm

A local vendor of Harman has a Super Mag running full tilt and I was amazed that Harman designed the angle of the burner right at the glass. It had a beautiful hot flame but I'm not so sure I would to comfortable see that all the time (blasting at the glass.) My mother has a Keystoker 90k and I replaced the glass twice because of crazing. I finally had keystoker replace the glass with a steel plate. Can't see the flame or glow anymore but we just cared about the heat. I suppose the moral of this story is that it doesn't matter what make of manufacturer, "craze does as craze will".

n0useforaname
Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun. Nov. 24, 2013 2:23 pm
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Baseboard Electric Backup
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA-6

Post Sat. Feb. 01, 2014 11:40 pm

Yeah, I know it is inevitable, but I thought that I would have more time than 12 hours. Ive already wiped this light brown film off it 3 times since I first started it 12 hours ago


User avatar
Carbon12
Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace
Location: Harrisburg, PA

Post Sat. Feb. 01, 2014 11:43 pm

It's kind of like a new car. You wash it every week and wax it once a month. After a while, it doesn't seem so important. The glass will soot over a bit and you'll get used to it. As long as it's heating the house, all is well.
No matter where you go,......there you are.

n0useforaname
Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun. Nov. 24, 2013 2:23 pm
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Baseboard Electric Backup
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA-6

Post Sun. Feb. 02, 2014 12:06 am

Carbon12 wrote:It's kind of like a new car. You wash it every week and wax it once a month. After a while, it doesn't seem so important. The glass will soot over a bit and you'll get used to it. As long as it's heating the house, all is well.
I was just mostly wondering if I was doing something wrong. Ive fired wood, soft coal, and hard nut, but never messed with a stoker. Seems like I'm doing everything right, so I guess I have to deal with glass soot :(. This Harman literally runs itself.. You set what you want as your max feed and dist blower, and it runs off a temp probe and takes care of itself. Its pretty fantastic. Now all I need is a beefy battery backup!

User avatar
Carbon12
Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace
Location: Harrisburg, PA

Post Sun. Feb. 02, 2014 12:25 am

Battery back up will work. A small generator will work much longer.
No matter where you go,......there you are.

n0useforaname
Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun. Nov. 24, 2013 2:23 pm
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Baseboard Electric Backup
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA-6

Post Sun. Feb. 02, 2014 12:33 am

Carbon12 wrote:Battery back up will work. A small generator will work much longer.
My only thing is, I see that in my manual it says "max wattage as 396".. but I'm assuming it def doesn't use that much unless my distribution fan is on Max.. which I will never run max because it can blow a house down. Wonder how much it actually uses?

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”