Supercharged My Alaska 140 Stoker.

User avatar
the snowman
Member
Posts: 543
Joined: Mon. Sep. 29, 2008 10:38 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Jotul 507
Coal Size/Type: Nut, Stove coal, Egg coal
Location: upstate NY Tug Hill area

Post Mon. Jan. 20, 2014 7:20 pm

I have a question:

I started the second carpet in my parents 140 yesterday (first time since they owned it) and shortly after the safety sensor tripped and shut off the stokers. I reset the sensor and restarted just the back carpet and have no problems. Never had the safety sensor trip before with just the one carpet burning, now going on three years. Any thoughts as to why it tripped when the second carpet was burning?

The snowman

User avatar
Flyer5
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 10375
Joined: Sun. Oct. 21, 2007 4:23 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Pioneer
Location: Montrose PA
Contact:

Post Mon. Jan. 20, 2014 8:36 pm

the snowman wrote:I have a question:

I started the second carpet in my parents 140 yesterday (first time since they owned it) and shortly after the safety sensor tripped and shut off the stokers. I reset the sensor and restarted just the back carpet and have no problems. Never had the safety sensor trip before with just the one carpet burning, now going on three years. Any thoughts as to why it tripped when the second carpet was burning?

The snowman
What venting?

User avatar
Pauliewog
Member
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon. Dec. 02, 2013 12:15 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska 140 Dual Paddle Feed
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Pittston Stove
Baseburners & Antiques: Fame Rosemont #20, Dickson Oak, Golden Oak, Happy Thought Oak, 1913 Herald Oak#16, (2)Comfort Stove
Coal Size/Type: Stove, Chesnut, Pea, Rice / Anthracite
Location: Pittston, Pennsylvania

Post Tue. Jan. 21, 2014 2:11 am

It's possible with the second combustion blower running you are creating a positive pressure in your firebox. Did you check over fire and flue pressures ?

Paul


User avatar
the snowman
Member
Posts: 543
Joined: Mon. Sep. 29, 2008 10:38 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Jotul 507
Coal Size/Type: Nut, Stove coal, Egg coal
Location: upstate NY Tug Hill area

Post Tue. Jan. 21, 2014 3:45 pm

Flyer5,

I have a Powervent on the furnace. This powervent I have had on the furnace for the past two seasons now going on the third. The manual for the 140 specified a .04 draft. I always check the draft at the beginning of each heating season. If the powervent is too dirty and has let the draft drop, that might cause a positive pressure in the furnace thus tripping the safety sensor. I will have to check to see how dirty the powerventer is.

Paul,

Interesting, I did not check those. I did look at the Fields damper and it was holding steady as it has all season as well as the past two seasons. I have not cleaned it since I started the 140 this year. I usually do not need to clean it all season. If I had my manometer with me I would have checked the draft.

Has anyone ever heard of the safety sensor on the 140's going bad? Just thinking. If you guys have any ideas I'd love to hear them. Thanks.

The snowman.

User avatar
Pauliewog
Member
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon. Dec. 02, 2013 12:15 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska 140 Dual Paddle Feed
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Pittston Stove
Baseburners & Antiques: Fame Rosemont #20, Dickson Oak, Golden Oak, Happy Thought Oak, 1913 Herald Oak#16, (2)Comfort Stove
Coal Size/Type: Stove, Chesnut, Pea, Rice / Anthracite
Location: Pittston, Pennsylvania

Post Tue. Jan. 21, 2014 7:06 pm

Snowman,
If you are running one burner now , put your hand on the safety switch ..... my guess is you can hold the outer housing in your hand comfortably.

That's because the tube behind it is sucking room temperature air into the firebox due to the firebox negative pressure.

Now fire up the second burner...... If you burn your hand on it like I think you will....... You have positive firebox pressure and it's doing its job .

My guess is a partially blocked chimney or too much additional combustion air. Check for obstructions FIRST!

Try restricting the combustion air a little as suggested by our other members with a refrigerator magnet on the air intake located on the bottom of the feeders.

Paul

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”