Alaska 140 Dual Stoker Add Ons/New Setup

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
Leadslingingdaddy
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri. Aug. 02, 2013 10:32 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Dual Stoker 140
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: 140 Dual Feed
Location: Frederick MD

Post Fri. Dec. 06, 2013 9:32 am

Follow on from a previous post on the 140 Hopper smell...

Here are some pics of the stove I came into upon buying our house in July...Sat for 3 years...unoccupied.

Fast learning curve but with the help from this forum I haven't burned the house down yet...

I have it running on one side only as it seems to do a good job and uses less coal.. I plan on redoing the duct work and adding a larger stack in the spring...

I need to redo all the gaskets and seal her up since I have a few leaks from the fire box that I seal with foil tape for now to recapture the heat...

I have no T Stat on the distro motor so I have a redneck damper on it for now to keep my firebox and stack hot enough for the house...The motor is either on or off...

Let me know if you see any major problems with the setup as it is now...

Also a pic of my coal bin! :lol:
Stoker 1.JPG
Attachments
Stoker 4.JPG
Stoker 2.JPG
Stoker 5.JPG
Stoker 6.JPG
Stoker 7.JPG
Stoker 8.JPG
Stoker 9.JPG
Stoker 10.JPG
Stoker 11.JPG
Coal Bin

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Fri. Dec. 06, 2013 6:07 pm

Looks good, what size pipe is the Heat output to your heating system? You might be able to go bigger or another 8" pipe to get more heat transfer.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8300
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Sat. Dec. 07, 2013 12:04 am

Leadslingingdaddy wrote:Let me know if you see any major problems with the setup as it is now...
Is that card board strapped over the blower?? I don't understand why you would want that there.. Air needs to flow thru the furnace in order to feed your warm air ducts. Am I missing something? :?

Leadslingingdaddy
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri. Aug. 02, 2013 10:32 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Dual Stoker 140
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: 140 Dual Feed
Location: Frederick MD

Post Sat. Dec. 07, 2013 12:41 am

Yea its a 8 inch pipe...when I sit it done in the spring time that is one of the first thing I am going to address.

The cardboard restricts the airflow so it doesn't cool the firebox too low. Since it doesn't cycle on or off. Getting a t stat that will rectify that next week.

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8300
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Sat. Dec. 07, 2013 12:59 am

Leadslingingdaddy wrote:Yea its a 8 inch pipe...when I sit it done in the spring time that is one of the first thing I am going to address.

The cardboard restricts the airflow so it doesn't cool the firebox too low. Since it doesn't cycle on or off. Getting a t stat that will rectify that next week.
I wouldn't worry about it cooling the firebox. Actually more air flow will make for more even heat distribution thru the warm air ducts resulting in more even heat in the house..

I added more ducts like this.. :D
Attachments
IMG_20130110_172708.jpg


User avatar
dcrane
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 3115
Joined: Sun. Apr. 22, 2012 9:28 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane 404
Location: Duxbury, MA./Hanson MA./Brockton, MA

Post Sat. Dec. 07, 2013 6:11 am

I think Lightnings right... I don't think on a forced draft stoker cooling the firebox is a concern (whatever heat your combustion chamber produces, be it hot blazing or mild you want upstairs).
Obviously on a manual burner cooling the firebox to much results in effecting the burn/efficiency.

I think your basement looks great! you got well water? elec water heater, appears to be nice pro set ups on sump and also maybe dehumid hose to outside? metal dryer hose, great looking foundation and great ash clean outs (appears you may be missing a chimney cap)...whatcha got upstairs for fireplaces because those flu clean outs are pretty wide apart ;). Im not sure it was wise to cut engineered beams that much for dryer hose :cry: (I know that would be a problem on standard 2x10s) maybe someone can weight in on if its OK to cut that much out of a joist like that (hopefully theirs nothing heavy above that area?).

Leadslingingdaddy
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri. Aug. 02, 2013 10:32 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Dual Stoker 140
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: 140 Dual Feed
Location: Frederick MD

Post Sat. Dec. 07, 2013 10:25 am

We have a single fireplace upstairs. All the construction was done prior to us moving in and the house was vacant for 3 years so we are playing catch up.

There is a steel I beam for support so I think it is a problem with the dryer run. Had builders come and say that the house is well built. Just been a lot of work.. took 8 trailer loads of just rose bushes out

Leadslingingdaddy
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri. Aug. 02, 2013 10:32 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Dual Stoker 140
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: 140 Dual Feed
Location: Frederick MD

Post Thu. Dec. 12, 2013 7:44 am

Anyone have an idea of the internal construiction of the Alaska 140's?

I want to put a larger stack pipe or actual hood to capture the entire top portion rather than only 8"...

User avatar
Pauliewog
Member
Posts: 871
Joined: Mon. Dec. 02, 2013 12:15 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska 140 Dual Paddle Feed
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Pittston Stove
Baseburners & Antiques: Fame Rosemont #20, Dickson Oak, Golden Oak, Happy Thought Oak, 1913 Herald Oak#16, (2)Comfort Stove
Coal Size/Type: Stove, Chesnut, Pea, Rice / Anthracite
Location: Pittston, Pennsylvania

Post Thu. Dec. 12, 2013 9:45 am

Leadslinger,

Your 140 is constructed identical to mine and so far every other 140 I have seen. There is already a double wall from top to floor, on the entire back, and It extends around the top and the both sides about half way down with an approx 2 to 3 inch air space between the firebox and the outer wall.

There is a flange around the entire top about 3/4" from the edge that the plenum attaches to . Looking at your furnace it appears the previous owner made a cap to cover the hole and cut a hole in the middle for the 8" supply duct.

Give me a call at 570 262 5713 I can talk much faster than I can type .

Paul
Former anthracite contract strip miner

Leadslingingdaddy
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri. Aug. 02, 2013 10:32 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Dual Stoker 140
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: 140 Dual Feed
Location: Frederick MD

Post Thu. Dec. 12, 2013 11:19 am

Great speaking with you Paul...!

Thanks for the helpful ideas and much needed information...As I said, I'm putting a barn fire out with a garden hose !!

Randy


User avatar
Pauliewog
Member
Posts: 871
Joined: Mon. Dec. 02, 2013 12:15 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska 140 Dual Paddle Feed
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Pittston Stove
Baseburners & Antiques: Fame Rosemont #20, Dickson Oak, Golden Oak, Happy Thought Oak, 1913 Herald Oak#16, (2)Comfort Stove
Coal Size/Type: Stove, Chesnut, Pea, Rice / Anthracite
Location: Pittston, Pennsylvania

Post Thu. Dec. 12, 2013 1:44 pm

Randy,

The pleasure was mine, call me anytime . I was thinking your first priority might be to call the coal delivery gentleman that posts on here and get a price on delivery or hook up your trailer and pick up a ton or two at the breaker.

The savings over bagged coal will more than pay for your modifications .

When installing your duct take offs I like to use the type pictured on top of my hopper with the built in damper. I dampen the ones going to my upper levels and run the 8 x 16 duct wide open that supplies the family room with is lower than the top of my stove. Gravity takes over and trickles the heat out at idle to our upper level rooms reducing the time my circulation fan runs. When my fan comes on the dampers reduce the volume to these upper rooms and forces the airflow to my family room .
After countless hours of adjusting I'm able to maintain a one to two degree difference in the entire house. The picture also shows the 8 x 16 duct feeding the lower rooms

Paul
Attachments
20131212_122742.jpg
Former anthracite contract strip miner

User avatar
Pauliewog
Member
Posts: 871
Joined: Mon. Dec. 02, 2013 12:15 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska 140 Dual Paddle Feed
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Pittston Stove
Baseburners & Antiques: Fame Rosemont #20, Dickson Oak, Golden Oak, Happy Thought Oak, 1913 Herald Oak#16, (2)Comfort Stove
Coal Size/Type: Stove, Chesnut, Pea, Rice / Anthracite
Location: Pittston, Pennsylvania

Post Thu. Dec. 12, 2013 2:14 pm

Randy,

I pulled the secondary air filter out of the slot a little for the picture. You can see the hot water coil ends in the pic for my domestic hot water and heart exchanger for my hot tub. I had the hand fired furnace hooked up to the domestic but just didn't get to plumbing up the stoker. Waiting to install the heat exchanger and hot tub first.

The other two pictures are of the alarm dialer project in progress.i have to set up the loss of power , over and under temperature relays and pick up another Co detector with a set of remote contacts.

I can program it to dial up to 3 numbers and will be handy to monitor it when I'm out of town.

Paul
Attachments
20131212_123421.jpg
20131212_124629.jpg
20131212_124734.jpg
Former anthracite contract strip miner

btrowe1
Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun. Aug. 24, 2008 11:29 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska stoker 140 Coal
Stove/Furnace Make: alaska stove
Location: South Glens Falls ny

Post Sat. Dec. 14, 2013 12:04 am

Sorry for asking,.What is the telephone stuff for, getting way to technical for the alaska 140, just hook up to a regular or programable thermostat set your low fire and then your hi fire and let her rip. If you need 2 stokers fire her up accordingly,if not just use 1. It's an easy stove to use. I'll take pictures of mine (7 years old) but very functional not many extra's.
When it's -20 below coal is the way to go.

User avatar
Pauliewog
Member
Posts: 871
Joined: Mon. Dec. 02, 2013 12:15 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska 140 Dual Paddle Feed
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Pittston Stove
Baseburners & Antiques: Fame Rosemont #20, Dickson Oak, Golden Oak, Happy Thought Oak, 1913 Herald Oak#16, (2)Comfort Stove
Coal Size/Type: Stove, Chesnut, Pea, Rice / Anthracite
Location: Pittston, Pennsylvania

Post Sat. Dec. 14, 2013 1:33 am

btrowe1 wrote:Sorry for asking,.What is the telephone stuff for, getting way to technical for the alaska 140, just hook up to a regular or programable thermostat set your low fire and then your hi fire and let her rip. If you need 2 stokers fire her up accordingly,if not just use 1. It's an easy stove to use. I'll take pictures of mine (7 years old) but very functional not many extra's.
Btrowe1,

LOL .... I was expecting to really get blasted for that one. You are absolutely right. I guess being semi retired I have too much time on my hands!

I do have it on a programable thermostat with set it back 3 or 4 degrees about midnight to 6 and ramp it back up for the day. My high and low are set where I like them and heating close to 4000 Sq ft most of the time I'm running both burners at a slow idle.

Actually, It was for a few reasons other than being a little senile. For one thing the dialer has been sitting around the shop for at least 10 years. I have a phone jack within a few feet of the stoker.Then there is a fan control temp switch that I no longer use when I switched from the hand fired furnace just begging me to find something for it to do.

We travel quite a bit and my 3 children are all within a mile or so away and take care of it when we are gone. Other than a few hours of my time I have everything here to install it. I can program it to call up to 3 cell phones and let me know if there is a problem. A little piece of mind when I'm out of town for a few weeks

You may really want to kill me with this one ....... I have some bin level proximity switches left over from a job and I thought about putting them on the coal hopper .....lol

I may be nuts ...... But I love my 140 ! :lol:

Paul
Former anthracite contract strip miner

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”