Draft on the Lower or Stronger Side.

Rich9876
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker Koker
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat
Other Heating: Electric Central Heat and Air

Post by Rich9876 » Tue. Nov. 12, 2013 6:36 pm

I have been burning coal now for 3 years and this question might seem like a dumb one. I would like to know peoples thoughts if its better to have a draft on the lower or stronger side. I know the stronger the draft the more heat goes up the chiminey but will it burn up the coal any better. I have a keystoker koaker and this is the first year that I am burning buckwheat with no problems. I use a manometer to set the draft the way keystoker recommends 2 on the manometer on a full burn. keystoker recommends 2-3 I believe. Thanks for your advice..

Rich

captcaper

Post by captcaper » Tue. Nov. 12, 2013 7:20 pm

Rich9876 wrote:I have been burning coal now for 3 years and this question might seem like a dumb one. I would like to know peoples thoughts if its better to have a draft on the lower or stronger side. I know the stronger the draft the more heat goes up the chiminey but will it burn up the coal any better. I have a keystoker koaker and this is the first year that I am burning buckwheat with no problems. I use a manometer to set the draft the way keystoker recommends 2 on the manometer on a full burn. keystoker recommends 2-3 I believe. Thanks for your advice..

Rich
From what I've seen they say to set the draft to manufacturer's specs with a manometer when the stove is at peak out put or on high heat. With mine it's .06 to .08 so that doesn't leave too much to fool with.

Rich9876

Post by Rich9876 » Tue. Nov. 12, 2013 8:19 pm

Yes I know that there isn't much room but my question was does the coal burn better and produce more heat at a stronger draft at full burn I get good draft but at idle I get little to no draft. Wouldn't it be better to have a bit more draft at full burn and more at idle then to have less?

dcrane
Verified Business Rep.