How to Wire the Rheostat to the Powervent

coldfish38

Post by coldfish38 » Thu. Oct. 31, 2013 5:53 pm

I'm not an electrician and this is my first stove install but I did wire my whole house and it passed inspection. Help...........

btrowe1
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska stoker 140 Coal

Post by btrowe1 » Thu. Oct. 31, 2013 6:57 pm

Why would you want to wire your power vent to a rheostat?? anything that would interfere with the exhaust gas leaving the stove should not be tampered with, IMO,

Distribution fan yes,

coldfish38

Post by coldfish38 » Thu. Oct. 31, 2013 7:20 pm

The guy I bought it from had it wired to one so he could control the speed it would vent at. This is my quandry how to get the power vent wired in the first place weather or not it needs a rheostat...

freetown fred
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut

Post by freetown fred » Thu. Oct. 31, 2013 7:29 pm

cf, go to top right search box & put wiring power vent--hit search--see if anything helps ya out

franco b
Site Moderator
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea

Post by franco b » Thu. Oct. 31, 2013 7:30 pm

coldfish38 wrote:The guy I bought it from had it wired to one so he could control the speed it would vent at. This is my quandry how to get the power vent wired in the first place weather or not it needs a rheostat...
The motor is probably not compatible with a rheostat and might overheat or fail. Control the draft with a barometric damper.

VigIIPeaBurner
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker Koker(down)
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vermont Casting Vigilant II 2310
Other Heating: #2 Oil Furnace

Post by VigIIPeaBurner » Thu. Oct. 31, 2013 7:38 pm