Coal Stove Issues

Wconsidi
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun. Oct. 27, 2013 8:57 pm

Post Sun. Oct. 27, 2013 9:09 pm

I just bought a house and it has a coal stove in the basement and I'm new to coal stoves but something just doesn't seem right with it. I can't tell what brand it is but it looks like a leisure line, all the labels are blocked off by the hopper. It has an auto feed, a blower for air to the coal and a blower for circulating warm air off. It has a barometric damper also on the chimney pipe. The only adjustment I see is one for the feed which looks like just a long bolt. It has a motor that turns a rod that shifts a block out and in and this bolt either allows the rod to push the block back further to let more coal down or narrow the gap. The blowers don't have controls that I can see and just plug into a standard outlet, same with the motor for the rod. I started it up and got it burning pretty well, has been burning for about 4 hours. It does not seem like its burning all the coal. I get some ash but alot of what looks like just grey coal chunks. Also it doesn't seem to be putting out as much heat as it did when I first had it going. The stove was burning hot and the thermometer on the chimney pipe read about 190-215. The barometric damper was opening and closing to adjust draft but now just sits idle. Also the temp on the chimney pipe is only reading about 140. Also it seems like its going through a lot of coal for the amount of heat I'm getting. Any idea's on this guys?


User avatar
blrman07
Member
Posts: 2380
Joined: Mon. Sep. 27, 2010 3:39 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Bucket a Day
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vigilant Casting 2310
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Wood in the VC and anything that will fit in the Bucket a Day. It's not fussy.
Location: Girardville Pa.

Post Sun. Oct. 27, 2013 9:28 pm

Pictures....need pictures....

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6068
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Mon. Oct. 28, 2013 5:09 am

Seasonal Maintenance can not be ignored...coal fines and fly ash do get in the way.

User avatar
Wiz
Member
Posts: 926
Joined: Sun. Nov. 27, 2011 8:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker Ka 6
Coal Size/Type: Casey Junk Coal :(
Location: Tannersville Pa

Post Mon. Oct. 28, 2013 5:15 am

X2 on cleaning and pictures

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6068
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Mon. Oct. 28, 2013 5:25 am

fines collect under cast iron grate and hinder comb. air...partially burnt coal

fly ash in flue pipes causes restricted exhaust path...partial burnt coal, and possible carbon monoxide leaking in home

Get CO detectors now, if none.

Wconsidi
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun. Oct. 27, 2013 8:57 pm

Post Mon. Oct. 28, 2013 4:43 pm

Alright here are the pics. I also pulled out my burn tray and cleaned out underneath, it has some ash and I can see lights through all holes in it. One thing I did notice is that there is no seal around the bottom of it. Would it blow air by the holes?
Attachments
IMG_20131028_145851.jpg
IMG_20131028_145859.jpg
IMG_20131028_145907.jpg
IMG_20131028_145936.jpg
IMG_20131028_150412.jpg

User avatar
titleist1
Member
Posts: 4405
Joined: Wed. Nov. 14, 2007 4:06 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Mag Stoker (old style) one in basement, one in workshop
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III on standby for long power outages
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite; Nut/Anthracite
Location: Cecil County, MD

Post Mon. Oct. 28, 2013 5:07 pm

welcome to the forum!

good pics, somebody will have it ID'ed shortly and know how the controls are to be set up.

since you inherited this stove and aren't sure of its maintenance history, you want to double check a few things to make sure it's ready to fire up for the season.

check the chimney and any horizontal sections of flue pipe to make sure they are clear of fly ash.

check the holes in the grate to make sure they are really open and not partially clogged - use a proper sized drill bit.

get a co monitor or two and put one in the basement with the stove and another in your living area. bedrooms should also have one. we can help with how high to install them if you want!! :lol:

get a manometer so you know what your draft is and can watch for potential issues. (can also be used to accurately set your baro)

Wconsidi
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun. Oct. 27, 2013 8:57 pm

Post Mon. Oct. 28, 2013 9:03 pm

I have never heard of a Mano Meter. Where can I get a decent one?


Wconsidi
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun. Oct. 27, 2013 8:57 pm

Post Mon. Oct. 28, 2013 9:37 pm

Alright so I was looking on the Leisure Line stove website and I'm thinking I'm missing the control box to this beast. It says I can plug it directly into an outlet to troubleshoot certain things so that would mean I would need a control box of some kind to be trouble shooting it. Any thoughts or ideas on this?

User avatar
blrman07
Member
Posts: 2380
Joined: Mon. Sep. 27, 2010 3:39 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Bucket a Day
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vigilant Casting 2310
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Wood in the VC and anything that will fit in the Bucket a Day. It's not fussy.
Location: Girardville Pa.

Post Mon. Oct. 28, 2013 11:47 pm

It looks like some of the holes in the grate are clogged up. Suggest you take a small drill bit or an ice pick and poke them in the holes to ensure they are all open.

User avatar
titleist1
Member
Posts: 4405
Joined: Wed. Nov. 14, 2007 4:06 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Mag Stoker (old style) one in basement, one in workshop
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III on standby for long power outages
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite; Nut/Anthracite
Location: Cecil County, MD

Post Tue. Oct. 29, 2013 6:38 am

Manometer Install

this thread has a lot of pics of manometers. the dwyer mark II model 25 gets used here quite a lot. there is plenty of installation instructions in that thread too. less than $40 on ebay, grainger has them too, don't know their current price.

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11507
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Tue. Oct. 29, 2013 7:01 pm

Did we confirm this is a LL stove? If so, I can move the thread to the LL forum.

User avatar
blrman07
Member
Posts: 2380
Joined: Mon. Sep. 27, 2010 3:39 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Bucket a Day
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vigilant Casting 2310
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Wood in the VC and anything that will fit in the Bucket a Day. It's not fussy.
Location: Girardville Pa.

Post Tue. Oct. 29, 2013 10:23 pm

Yepper it is an older LL.

User avatar
Flyer5
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 10375
Joined: Sun. Oct. 21, 2007 4:23 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Pioneer
Location: Montrose PA
Contact:

Post Wed. Oct. 30, 2013 7:50 pm

Its an old LL. Back of grate needs a gasket.

Tips & Tricks

Wconsidi
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun. Oct. 27, 2013 8:57 pm

Post Fri. Nov. 01, 2013 8:56 am

Alright so I when I went and ordered the coal for my stove the guy said that when he dropped off the coal he would take a quick peak at my stove. He replaced that gasket in the back, set my barometric damper and cleaned all the blowers and motors up. Sucker runs like a champ now. Hell of a guy charged me twenty bucks and stopped by later to make sure it was all up and running the way it should. Said that the gasket in the back should be replaced every year or two just for good measure and the blowers cleaned about every 3 months.


Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”