Alaska Channing Stove Help Needed

joecool62

Post by joecool62 » Wed. Jan. 02, 2008 8:38 pm

Hello Everyone,
I'm an obvious newbie to this forum and to running a stoker stove. I can use all of the help I can get from you guys.
I bought my Alaska Channing III stoker stove brand new a month ago. The electrical connections seemed straight forward enough so I don't think that is my problem. My barometric damper seems to operate correctly. My exhaust temp located just above the damper reads between 150°F-160°F and 180°F when I turn it up a bit. My problem is even on low heat settings of "1+1/2" to "2" on the factory dial I use almost a full hopper load in just 1 day. I also get a full ash pan full with chunky ash- not powdered. If I run the stove on "1" it will last only 1+1/2 days but almost no heat output. I'm sure I'm doing something wrong but I just can't figure it out.
My old Franco Belge hand fired put out this much heat using 1/2 as much coal.
Any and all advice or tuning tips will be greatly appreciated.Attachments

Attachments

Channing Stove .JPG
.JPG | 24.2KB | Channing Stove .JPG

av8r
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)

Post by av8r » Wed. Jan. 02, 2008 8:51 pm

Have you measured your draft with a manometer? Are there adjustments to the feed beyond the stoker motor rheostat?

A friend just put the same stove in. He's heating approximately 2500 sq ft. Stove is in the basement, stairs are open and he has one hole in the floor with a fan pulling up warm air. His basement is around 80 and that keeps the upstairs around 65-67. He has been burning 50 pounds a day give or take.

jpen1
Stoker Coal Boiler: LL110
Coal Size/Type: Rice/ Buck

Post by jpen1 » Wed. Jan. 02, 2008 9:01 pm