Power Vent My Alaska Kodiak

Post Reply
rjheintz
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun. Mar. 24, 2013 12:47 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Kodiak 18-20 years old

Post Sun. Mar. 24, 2013 1:03 pm

I would like to know if I could install a power vent on old Alaska Kodiak which is 18-20 years old. I have a masonary chimmey now which needs to be replaced and don't which way to go. thanks for any help.

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6068
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Sun. Mar. 24, 2013 7:18 pm

That's a Hand Fed unit, isn't it?

If so, NO, cannot vent w/ power vent. Only stokers can be power vented.
Stokers have only small amount of coal burning...so, if/when electric power is lost little residual heat and smoke remains in fire box.
On the other hand, a hand fed stove contains many pounds of coal...so, if/when electric power is lost very much residual heat and smoke remains in fire box, and this is NOT good.

rjheintz
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun. Mar. 24, 2013 12:47 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Kodiak 18-20 years old

Post Sat. Mar. 30, 2013 9:59 am

This is a stoker


User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6068
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Sat. Mar. 30, 2013 2:46 pm

Then it will work.
There is a bit of regular maintenance to power vents,
or it will let you down when you least expect it...chimney will do you much, much better. ;)

User avatar
Berlin
Site Moderator
Posts: 1847
Joined: Thu. Feb. 09, 2006 1:25 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Will-Burt Combustioneer 77B
Coal Size/Type: Ohio BITUMINOUS pea stoker coal
Location: Buffalo/Adirondacks, NY

Post Sat. Mar. 30, 2013 4:56 pm

what's wrong with your chimney?

rjheintz
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun. Mar. 24, 2013 12:47 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Kodiak 18-20 years old

Post Fri. Apr. 05, 2013 1:55 pm

The chimmey footer has sunk and we are putting new siding on the house. I would rather not have a chimmey if possible. Thanks for your help

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”