What Is This Plug for on My LL Hearth Model?

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Sat. Dec. 22, 2007 6:20 pm

Little, silver colored plug on the feeder side of the stove right near the feeder mechanism. In this pic it's the silver button looking thingy just above the vinyl flex pipe. Anyone know what this is for? Appears to be too large to be for a manometer.

Image
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck

xackley
Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun. Oct. 07, 2007 10:57 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Finger Lakes, NY

Post Sat. Dec. 22, 2007 6:49 pm

I have a pocono. My guess was that it was for the future Igniter that the Coal-trol people are working on.
But as I said, that is a guess.

User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Sat. Dec. 22, 2007 6:59 pm

xackley wrote:I have a pocono. My guess was that it was for the future Igniter that the Coal-trol people are working on.
But as I said, that is a guess.

You have one also on yours?
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck

xackley
Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun. Oct. 07, 2007 10:57 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Finger Lakes, NY

Post Sat. Dec. 22, 2007 7:03 pm

Yep
look at the blower, and the pusher, that plug covers a hole that would be in the air box under the grate.


User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Sat. Dec. 22, 2007 7:10 pm

xackley wrote:Yep
look at the blower, and the pusher, that plug covers a hole that would be in the air box under the grate.


Ya, I saw it before I ever fired up the stove. Looked at it from the inside also. Just wasn't sure what it was there for. I think your guess is a good one!
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck

Jerry & Karen
Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon. Jan. 23, 2006 7:30 pm
Location: Berwick, pa
Contact:

Post Sat. Dec. 22, 2007 7:33 pm

Don,
No way could that have been a guess. I must have told you. Anyway your right.
Jerry

User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Sat. Dec. 22, 2007 7:37 pm

So, would this be a good spot to plumb in a fitting to connect to a manometer?
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck

xackley
Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun. Oct. 07, 2007 10:57 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Finger Lakes, NY

Post Sat. Dec. 22, 2007 10:30 pm

Jerry no, no one ever told me that, but why else would there be a hole there, It's not big enough for anything else. At first I thought it was a pre-drilled hole for a manometer. Then I noticed the location.

Av8r. no. that would be a high pressure area of clean air before it is pushed through the coal. I don't know where you would measure the pressure in the stove.


User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Sat. Dec. 22, 2007 10:38 pm

xackley wrote:Jerry no, no one ever told me that, but why else would there be a hole there, It's not big enough for anything else. At first I thought it was a pre-drilled hole for a manometer. Then I noticed the location.

Av8r. no. that would be a high pressure area of clean air before it is pushed through the coal. I don't know where you would measure the pressure in the stove.


Hmmm..mine is not in the airstream for the combustion air, it's just a hole into the firebox, below the grate..at least on my stove.

EDIT:
nope...I'm wrong...it looks like it is in the combusiton airstream...thanks for the info!
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck

User avatar
smith10210
Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon. Nov. 26, 2007 9:13 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer
Stove/Furnace Model: 50-93
Location: Near Buffalo, NY

Post Mon. Dec. 24, 2007 12:20 pm

Are these igniter's in production? I would be interested in one depending on the price seems like a good idea. I assume the extra cord on the coal trol box is where it would be connected.

User avatar
av8r
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu. Dec. 06, 2007 12:07 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Hearth with twin turbos (sounds like it)
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hearth model with twin turbos
Location: Near Owego, NY

Post Mon. Dec. 24, 2007 1:16 pm

smith10210 wrote:Are these igniter's in production? I would be interested in one depending on the price seems like a good idea. I assume the extra cord on the coal trol box is where it would be connected.

They're not yet available. The extra wire is, in fact, for the igniter.
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”