Am I Running My Harman Magnum Too Aggressive??

PeteM
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Magnum
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by PeteM » Wed. Feb. 27, 2013 9:47 pm

Hello everyone. I just want to mention that this forum is awesome! I bought a new house last year which has a Harman Magnum coal stove installed. It's been quite a learning experience as I've never used coal before. It didn't take me long to convert after my first oil bill came in. It's heating the house well enough for us, but I was wondering if there was such a thing as running it too hot? I have attached some pictures of what I mean.

Front View
20130227_184004.jpg

Front View

.JPG | 103KB | 20130227_184004.jpg
View from top(Notice the ash clumping and hanging over the edge of the grates)
20130227_184041.jpg

Top View

.JPG | 121.9KB | 20130227_184041.jpg
Sometimes the blue flames are out in front of the upside V? (i'm a novice, I don't know what that is but it seems to be there to help move the warm air out. ) Other times when I open the door I see blue flames run down the sides of the grates towards the ash pan for a moment or two. I just want to make sure I am running this correctly!

I used up the coal that was in the bin from the previous owner and then got a half ton from Mammoth Materials. I think I'm going to try Direnzo's for my next half ton to see if there is a difference..

dcrane
Verified Business Rep.
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane 404

Post by dcrane » Wed. Feb. 27, 2013 9:57 pm

Harmon is an expensive lil' perk to get with the house :P
I will leave the burning of a Harman Stoker to those more qualified then I (there are plenty of them here!) BUT
I DO want to comment on your door gasketing :lol: time to replace it my friend!!! :lol:

dcrane
Verified Business Rep.
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane 404

Post by dcrane » Wed. Feb. 27, 2013 9:58 pm

dcrane wrote:Harmon is an expensive lil' perk to get with the house :P