6" Class A Chimney Pipe

Post Reply
User avatar
smith10210
Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon. Nov. 26, 2007 9:13 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer
Stove/Furnace Model: 50-93
Location: Near Buffalo, NY

Post Sat. Dec. 15, 2007 12:46 am

Just wondering if you need a special cap for burning coal. I'm using the existing class a that was already installed in the house for the wood stove that I now replaced with my stoker. I have one similar to this
**Broken Link(s) Removed**.

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9918
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Sat. Dec. 15, 2007 7:57 am

I would not bother with a cap unless you are having downdraft issues. $80 will buy a lot of coal.


User avatar
europachris
Member
Posts: 993
Joined: Sat. Dec. 09, 2006 5:54 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM 350/Iron Fireman
Stove/Furnace Model: Custom bituminous burner
Location: N. Central Illinois

Post Sat. Dec. 15, 2007 8:46 am

Cap will keep out rain/snow, etc. and help prevent corrosion inside the chimney. Coal ash has sulfur in it. Sulfur + water = sulfuric acid = rot out metal.

Cap can also collect ash, etc. and clog if not maintained, but MUCH worse if burning bituminous. That can clog a cap in a day or two.

User avatar
smith10210
Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon. Nov. 26, 2007 9:13 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer
Stove/Furnace Model: 50-93
Location: Near Buffalo, NY

Post Sat. Dec. 15, 2007 1:47 pm

So there
europachris wrote:Cap will keep out rain/snow, etc. and help prevent corrosion inside the chimney. Coal ash has sulfur in it. Sulfur + water = sulfuric acid = rot out metal.

Cap can also collect ash, etc. and clog if not maintained, but MUCH worse if burning bituminous. That can clog a cap in a day or two.
Doesnt sound good. So there isnt much you can do just keep an eye on it. I saw this cap listed on another site and it said you cant use it with coal thats why I asked.. I do get some down draft sometimes if it is extremely windy out but im assuming thats normal.

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”