Coal in Ash

Post Reply
jason15
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu. Jul. 19, 2012 5:45 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III

Post Sun. Dec. 16, 2012 1:43 pm

I have noticed in recent weeks there has been
More coal in my ash I have a Alaska Channing III
I use their Controll which is a solid state timer
With settings 1-6 that adjust my feed I have no
Other Controlls other than my combustion fan which
Runs 100% all the time and my blower motor.
Any ideas why this would happen? My stove is still
Burning nice and hot just seems like some coal isn't being
Used.

Boots
Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu. Nov. 10, 2011 4:38 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Burnham SFB 101 (sold)
Location: Central PA

Post Sun. Dec. 16, 2012 5:35 pm

i think that is normal, to an extent. did you recently change coal suppliers?

jason15
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu. Jul. 19, 2012 5:45 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III

Post Sun. Dec. 16, 2012 7:22 pm

No same supplier. I just wasn't sure if I was missing
Something with the stove. I cleaned everything out everything
Works. I don't know how much of a variance the solid state timers have
I don't know if mine is advancing to quick and the coal doesn't
Have enough time to burn before it cycles again?

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11507
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Sun. Dec. 16, 2012 7:42 pm

Maybe you need to clean fines out of the grate?


User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5864
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Sun. Dec. 16, 2012 7:55 pm

it's typical with most stoves, you will always have some unburnt regular coal in your ash.

User avatar
Wiz
Member
Posts: 926
Joined: Sun. Nov. 27, 2011 8:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker Ka 6
Coal Size/Type: Casey Junk Coal :(
Location: Tannersville Pa

Post Mon. Dec. 17, 2012 5:27 am

you'll see more unburnt coal in warmer temps compared to colder temps.

jason15
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu. Jul. 19, 2012 5:45 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III

Post Mon. Dec. 17, 2012 8:57 am

Thanks I wasn't aware of that and the temps have been higher.

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”