Too Much Fire?? Harmon Magnum Stoker

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
llama99
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat. Dec. 01, 2012 8:19 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Magnum Stoker
Coal Size/Type: rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Magnum Stoker
Location: New Tripoli Pa

Post Thu. Dec. 06, 2012 5:49 pm

Too Much Fire.JPG
I re-worked my stove pipe and fired it up again - no smell and no CO readings. But I think she is running too hot. Do I back down the auger speed or close the flap on the blower fan a bit... or both...or??

User avatar
BinghamtonNY
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon. Dec. 05, 2005 2:56 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman Magnum Stoker
Location: Vestal NY

Post Thu. Dec. 06, 2012 7:52 pm

Back it down maybe a half turn and wait an hour or so.

User avatar
titleist1
Member
Posts: 4404
Joined: Wed. Nov. 14, 2007 4:06 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Mag Stoker (old style) one in basement, one in workshop
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III on standby for long power outages
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite; Nut/Anthracite
Location: Cecil County, MD

Post Thu. Dec. 06, 2012 8:48 pm

how many dots are you pushing now and how far open is the baffle on the combustion fan?

i don't remember what dots I am pushing, i'll check and update later. my fan baffle is closed about 3/4 of the way - the opening is about my index finger wide, I know that from resetting it after lighting back up last night.
I drive a VW TDI, heat my home & workshop with two coal stokers and have two vintage JD diesel tractors....
The EPA just loves me!!


llama99
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat. Dec. 01, 2012 8:19 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Magnum Stoker
Coal Size/Type: rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Magnum Stoker
Location: New Tripoli Pa

Post Thu. Dec. 06, 2012 9:01 pm

iI moved it back to about 2 dots and the baffle is open about 1 inch and looks better.

User avatar
titleist1
Member
Posts: 4404
Joined: Wed. Nov. 14, 2007 4:06 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Mag Stoker (old style) one in basement, one in workshop
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III on standby for long power outages
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite; Nut/Anthracite
Location: Cecil County, MD

Post Thu. Dec. 06, 2012 10:14 pm

i checked and I am pushing 2-1/2 dots. so we are close in our settings.
I drive a VW TDI, heat my home & workshop with two coal stokers and have two vintage JD diesel tractors....
The EPA just loves me!!

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”