Changed My Choice in Stoves

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
scout2g11
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri. Aug. 17, 2012 1:32 am
Location: Finger lakes, New York

Post Sat. Dec. 01, 2012 9:08 am

I changed my mind with my stove purchase. I wanted a Alaska stoker II but bought a Alaska Channing. I have been running it approx a month now and still learning. My first time working with coal so it will be a long haul I am sure learning. Overall I am very happy with it. My heat is right on I just think I am dumping my ash pan more than I should be. Any pointers for this new operator with this coal stove.

User avatar
freetown fred
Member
Posts: 21415
Joined: Thu. Dec. 31, 2009 12:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut
Location: Freetown,NY 13803

Post Sat. Dec. 01, 2012 9:13 am

OK--what all are you doing now as far as tending, etc? How often are you dumping--come on, you're from NYS. Let's get some facts here? ;)
"A people that values it's privileges above it's principals, soon loses both"--Dwight D Eisenhower

scout2g11
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri. Aug. 17, 2012 1:32 am
Location: Finger lakes, New York

Post Sat. Dec. 01, 2012 9:17 am

I am dumping the ash pan twice a day and both times pan is full. On my t stat how far apart can my numbers be. Do I want them closer together or apart


User avatar
freetown fred
Member
Posts: 21415
Joined: Thu. Dec. 31, 2009 12:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut
Location: Freetown,NY 13803

Post Sat. Dec. 01, 2012 9:23 am

You're gonna have to wait for one of the girly-guy burners to chime in-- I tend my hand fired every 12 hrs & in the dead of cold, empty every 24 to 36 hrs
"A people that values it's privileges above it's principals, soon loses both"--Dwight D Eisenhower

User avatar
SMITTY
Member
Posts: 11915
Joined: Sun. Dec. 11, 2005 12:43 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Patriot Coal - (custom built by Jim Dorsey, Taunton MA - RIP 4/18/13)
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III (SOLD!)
Coal Size/Type: Rice / Blaschak anthracite
Other Heating: Oil fired Burnham boiler
Location: West-Central Mass

Post Sat. Dec. 01, 2012 9:23 am

Could be the coal your using in addition to your settings. When I used Kimmels bagged nut, I had double the ash I now have from Blaschak in the same size, from my hand fired unit.
The laws that forbid the carrying of arms...disarm only those who are
neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes. ...Such laws make things worse
for the assaulted and better for the assailants, they serve rather to
encourage than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with
greater confidence than an armed man."

- Thomas Jefferson, quoting 18th century criminologist Cesare Beccaria in "On
Crimes and Punishment."

Adkhunter
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu. Sep. 27, 2012 3:36 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III
Location: Delmar, NY

Post Sat. Dec. 01, 2012 11:03 am

High high do you have your stove set at? I also just got a Channing III and I empty only once a day and its not completely full either. But it never gets above "3" on the feed rate control box. It's usually set between 2 and 2.5. That keeps the entire house toasty warm. Using about 1/2 to 3/4 of a bag of coal a day. I think that's pretty dang good as far as I know. What brand of coal are you using? And where is your stove located? Mines on the first floor in the corner so the heat doesn't have to travel through any ducts.


scout2g11
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri. Aug. 17, 2012 1:32 am
Location: Finger lakes, New York

Post Sun. Dec. 02, 2012 8:53 am

i turn mine down yesterday. I was running 8 and 30 now its 8 and 20 to see how that work with ashes

User avatar
Short Bus
Member
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun. Jan. 10, 2010 12:22 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Kewanee boiler with Anchor stoker
Coal Size/Type: Chestnut / Sub-bituminous C
Other Heating: Propane wall furnace back up only
Location: Cantwell Alaska

Post Sun. Dec. 02, 2012 3:22 pm

If there is no coal in your ash, the quantity of ash is a function of the coal you burn.
If it was as easy as burning oil, everybody would be burning coal.
Forum reality, If you ask wheres a good steak house? You will be informed that what you really want is pork chops.
Enjoy it for what it is worth.

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”