Alaska Channing III Direct Vent Sulfur Smell

Adkhunter

Post by Adkhunter » Tue. Nov. 27, 2012 7:06 am

Hey guys. I'm new to coal burning and installed a Alaska Channing III in my new house that we built and should be finishing up everything to move in this weekend. We have had the stove inside burning for about a month now (had to heat the place for the sheet rockers and tapers and paint and all that). The stove seems to be burning good and heats the house great. I have a direct vent on the stove and my only question is that there is a very strong sulfur smell outside the house. It's obviously coming from the vent and you can smell it very easily depending on which way the wind is blowing. Is this normal? If it is that's fine I can live with it but if there's something wrong I will correct it right away. Thanks for your help guys! I will post some pics of my set up after I get home from work.

coalnewbie
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL AnthraKing 180K, Pocono110K,KStokr 90K, DVC
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Invader 2
Baseburners & Antiques: Wings Best, Glenwood #8(x2) Herald 116x
Coal Size/Type: Rice,
Other Heating: Heating Oil CH, Toyotomi OM 22

Post by coalnewbie » Tue. Nov. 27, 2012 7:11 am

Good morning and welcome to your board. It might be helpful if you can can us where you live in your profile and pics of the stove install. The short answer is I very much doubt if this is normal but first search the term on this board as the topic has come up before and someone more familiar with the Channing will advise you.

CoaLen
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker Koker
Coal Size/Type: rice

Post by CoaLen » Tue. Nov. 27, 2012 7:21 am

I've got a direct vent Keystoker. The exhaust coming out of the vent pipe outside the house smells like I just lit a match; the sulfur smell you're experiencing. It's normal.
-Len

blrman07

Post by blrman07 » Tue. Nov. 27, 2012 7:30 am