Keystoker Stoker Problem

Post Reply
User avatar
stovepipemike
Member
Posts: 1200
Joined: Sun. Jun. 15, 2008 11:53 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KAA-2
Location: Morgantown ,Penna

Post Mon. Nov. 19, 2012 5:07 pm

Three days ago while at the breakfast table [0500] I heard the oil burner come on. Ot Oh!! That meant no coal fire.Not only that ,black coal was filling the ash bucket area and overflowing the stoker.It was certainly trying to make heat with no fire,probably all night. I re-etablished fire and noted a very wimpy standby fire.The fire was not even making it all the way across the width of the grate area.I increased the pins to make 4 pins every 10 minutes.It stayed running but today was beautiful with minimum call for heat . I checked it just now and it was very skimpy again.There was a lot of standby time today. The coal is UAE and I am right in the middle of the last load and it is good coal, good ash and good heat when needed. My question is this: Is it possible to wear out one of the nylon(?) eccentric discs that actually pushes the feeder block? I don't know what else to think,has anyone else ever had a problem like this one? Thanks for your thoughts. MIke

User avatar
Wiz
Member
Posts: 926
Joined: Sun. Nov. 27, 2011 8:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker Ka 6
Coal Size/Type: Casey Junk Coal :(
Location: Tannersville Pa

Post Mon. Nov. 19, 2012 5:23 pm

Is main blower running? have you clean under the grate? is horizontal chimney pipe clean ? Sounds like draft problem.

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11498
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Mon. Nov. 19, 2012 5:33 pm

Time to shut down, clean out, and inspect for proper stoker operation and airflow.

CoaLen
Member
Posts: 567
Joined: Wed. Apr. 09, 2008 7:05 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker Koker
Coal Size/Type: rice
Location: Geauga County, NE Ohio

Post Mon. Nov. 19, 2012 7:10 pm

black coal was filling the ash bucket area and overflowing the stoker
Sounds like the pusher bar is doing the job.
The fire was not even making it all the way across the width of the grate area
I'm guessing the combustion motor needs to be pulled out and the fines vacuumed from under the grate.


User avatar
stovepipemike
Member
Posts: 1200
Joined: Sun. Jun. 15, 2008 11:53 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KAA-2
Location: Morgantown ,Penna

Post Mon. Nov. 19, 2012 8:21 pm

Thanks for the replys. I will go for a shutdown and see what I can learn.I will concentrate on the air and flow thru the holes in the grate.Mike

User avatar
oliver power
Member
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sun. Apr. 16, 2006 9:28 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: KEYSTOKER Kaa-2
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93 & 30-95, Vigilant (pre-Vigilant-II), D.S. 1600 Circulator
Location: Near Dansville, NY

Post Mon. Nov. 19, 2012 8:41 pm

I'm thinking along the same lines Mike; Air Flow........ Either grate holes blocked, or furnace cement had fallen out, allowing air to take the path of least resistance, and not be forced through grates. I pulled my stoker completely out this year. Went all through it. Works like new. I did notice wear on the nylon pusher wheel. Oliver

1jeepzj
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri. Nov. 28, 2008 2:55 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystone
Stove/Furnace Model: Keystoker 90K

Post Sat. Nov. 24, 2012 7:07 pm

I had same problem once with my keystoker pull grate out and vaccuum out the fines .if you pull the pusher bar out and find the nylon screws worn [or in my case two were broke] just go to lowes or home depot and get them but seems like air flow issue like the others said .

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”