Thermal Reset Button on EFM Coal Air Furnace

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
[email protected]
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue. Nov. 06, 2012 5:47 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: efm 1950s
Coal Size/Type: pea
Other Heating: electric
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: af

Post Wed. Nov. 07, 2012 10:57 am

Coal furnace keeps shuting down over night and going out. Hit reset button and the blower and auger start back up but of course I have to relight. If I lower the blower speed it seems like the coal does not burn all the way. Auger is set on two right now. Hard to figure out the perfect setting.


User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11343
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Wed. Nov. 07, 2012 11:40 am

What are you using for a timer setting? Any idea if the draft is correct?

[email protected]
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue. Nov. 06, 2012 5:47 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: efm 1950s
Coal Size/Type: pea
Other Heating: electric
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: af

Post Wed. Nov. 07, 2012 6:18 pm

I checked the draft and it goes way up to - 17pa as the chimney warms up. when I open the damper all the way it clicks a couple times and the shuts off.
Attachments
P1010248.JPG

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11343
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Wed. Nov. 07, 2012 6:22 pm

I had a brain fade earlier...if the reset button on the motor is popping it is probably time for a new motor. Maybe you can buy some time by oiling it.

[email protected]
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue. Nov. 06, 2012 5:47 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: efm 1950s
Coal Size/Type: pea
Other Heating: electric
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: af

Post Wed. Nov. 07, 2012 6:28 pm

this is a photo, what is the thing upper right of the unit. If I hold up it runs. I put 3 in 1 oil in the little port.
Attachments
P1010252.JPG

User avatar
Scottscoaled
Member
Posts: 2597
Joined: Tue. Jan. 08, 2008 9:51 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520, 700, Van Wert 800 GJ 61,53
Baseburners & Antiques: Magic Stewart 16, times 2!
Coal Size/Type: Lots of buck
Other Heating: Slant Fin electric boiler backup
Location: Malta N.Y.

Post Wed. Nov. 07, 2012 6:46 pm

Looks to me like a starting relay. That should start your stoker. There should be a black/red wire on terminal 4 that goes to your stoker motor.
Last edited by Scottscoaled on Wed. Nov. 07, 2012 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I think a man does what he can, untill his destiny is revealed. Right now that is trying to sell my EFM plate boilers in 520 and 700 sizes.

[email protected]
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue. Nov. 06, 2012 5:47 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: efm 1950s
Coal Size/Type: pea
Other Heating: electric
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: af

Post Wed. Nov. 07, 2012 7:07 pm

If I hold this shut/open it runs.
Attachments
P1010252.JPG

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11343
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Wed. Nov. 07, 2012 7:10 pm

That should not have anything to do with the reset button on the motor.

If the motor is able to run, closing that relay you pointed at would start the motor.


[email protected]
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue. Nov. 06, 2012 5:47 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: efm 1950s
Coal Size/Type: pea
Other Heating: electric
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: af

Post Wed. Nov. 07, 2012 7:16 pm

Yep it runs if I close that relay. So I get it started it will run for awhile. Then in the morning or after a couple hours I will go down and the motor will have a slight hum buzz push that red button and it start up.

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11343
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Wed. Nov. 07, 2012 7:18 pm

Replace the motor.

[email protected]
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue. Nov. 06, 2012 5:47 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: efm 1950s
Coal Size/Type: pea
Other Heating: electric
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: af

Post Wed. Nov. 07, 2012 7:20 pm

I did add oil to this port. Not very much though how much should it hold?
Attachments
P1010248.JPG

[email protected]
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue. Nov. 06, 2012 5:47 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: efm 1950s
Coal Size/Type: pea
Other Heating: electric
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: af

Post Wed. Nov. 07, 2012 7:21 pm

Really, are you certain. Why does it run some?

User avatar
Scottscoaled
Member
Posts: 2597
Joined: Tue. Jan. 08, 2008 9:51 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520, 700, Van Wert 800 GJ 61,53
Baseburners & Antiques: Magic Stewart 16, times 2!
Coal Size/Type: Lots of buck
Other Heating: Slant Fin electric boiler backup
Location: Malta N.Y.

Post Wed. Nov. 07, 2012 7:32 pm

Replace motor #2
I think a man does what he can, untill his destiny is revealed. Right now that is trying to sell my EFM plate boilers in 520 and 700 sizes.

oilman
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat. Feb. 04, 2006 6:19 pm
Location: Central New York

Post Wed. Nov. 07, 2012 9:32 pm

That is a very old motor. Needs a new one.
Oil & Coal Burner Service Specialist

[email protected]
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue. Nov. 06, 2012 5:47 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: efm 1950s
Coal Size/Type: pea
Other Heating: electric
Stove/Furnace Make: efm
Stove/Furnace Model: af

Post Thu. Nov. 08, 2012 7:56 am

so I messed with the timer a lot and got it to run 10 on 18 off it ran all night in the morning the house was 73 degrees at the thermostat. so I waited for it to time out and shut down. Then ran the t stat up passed 73 did not come on strange because it was runninig with the t sat last week. T stat is digital and new. I think the moter is ok, but your right it is old.


Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”