Trying to Improve Efficiency

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
User avatar
Ed.A
Member
Posts: 1638
Joined: Thu. Aug. 30, 2007 7:27 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Channing III/ '94 Stoker II
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Location: Canterbury Ct.

Post Tue. Nov. 27, 2012 6:35 pm

WNYRob wrote:I am not sure if this is even comparable to your set up, but with my naturally drafted koker I have yet to have the flue temp (measured inside the stack, above the barometric damper) get higher than 150 or so degrees. Usually my stove front runs about 300 or so, which results in a flue temp of about 120.
Yeh, your numbers pretty match my ChanningIII as well.

User avatar
GrandpaWasaMiner
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed. Oct. 31, 2012 11:07 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Mark II
Location: NE PA

Post Fri. Dec. 07, 2012 8:19 pm

First cold air return duct installed today. 6" pipe angled downward from a first floor Living Room floor to the basement with the Harman Mk II. Now I officially have an air loop. To enhance the the airflow, I installed a Suncoast 250cfm In-line duct booster fan in an effort to pressurize the basement. Here are some pics, sorry for the quality.
Attachments
IMAG0390.jpg
Living Room register
IMAG0392.jpg
Run of duct from the register toward the basement with the Harman
IMAG0393.jpg
Suncoast inline duct fan. Wired in and plugged into a timer.

User avatar
Ed.A
Member
Posts: 1638
Joined: Thu. Aug. 30, 2007 7:27 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Channing III/ '94 Stoker II
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Location: Canterbury Ct.

Post Fri. Dec. 07, 2012 10:15 pm

Nice Install.


User avatar
GrandpaWasaMiner
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed. Oct. 31, 2012 11:07 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Mark II
Location: NE PA

Post Sat. Dec. 08, 2012 12:36 pm

Thanks Ed A, if you look back on this thread, you'll see I am a neophyte at coal but I'm loving the exercise of the mind so far. The next step is to remove to 90's from the return line pictured and see if that improves the return flow as much as I hope it will. After that, I'm planning to cut in a Wye pipe behind the fan and run it to a new return register in another room.

User avatar
GrandpaWasaMiner
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed. Oct. 31, 2012 11:07 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Mark II
Location: NE PA

Post Sat. Dec. 08, 2012 3:55 pm

Here is a pleasant update to the stove temp compared to the stack temp.

I finally broke down and forked over another $14 to buy a thermometer that matches the one on the stove. The one previously installed on the stack was from the wood burner that was ripped out to make room for the Harman. I can't believe the difference.

As it is today, the wind is light, outside temps in the low 40's, and the Harman is churning at 350 degrees since 700AM. I am proud to announce my ACCURATE stack temp is 140 degrees, not the 250 as previously thought. I even went as far as to swap the matching thermometers and the readings matched... 350 stove / 140 stack.

So, please disregard the information below and please comment if these readings are more inline with a proper install. Of course, I have not needed to crank up the stove temp so far today. I would imagine the stack temp may go up somewhat when the stove temp hits 475-550 on a real cold day.
GrandpaWasaMiner wrote:Still have yet to get the return ducts run due to the Thanksgiving holiday and other priorities. However, I have learned to control that beast and get some cooler and longer burns. Here is a question...

I installed another thermo on the stack in addition to the one on the side of the Harman. Keep in mind I never got a manometer to check draft.
I can idle the Harman Mk II at 3/4 turn of the damper and stove temp is 275-300, but the stack temp is 250.
If I run the damper at 1 turn the stove temp ranges 300-375, but the stack temp stays at 250.
At 1 1/4 turns stove temp ranges 375-450, and the stack temp climbs to 275.
At 1 1/2 turns stove temp 475-550 and the stack stays at 275.
If I went 1 3/4 to 2 turns the stove temp get to 600 and can creep over 600. The stack temp stays at 275, but I REALLY DON'T feel comfortable burning that hot.

Based upon stove temp to stack temp, does it seem like I may have a decent setup so far? I have not tested the stove for any period of time burning from cracked open to 1/2 turn on the draft.

User avatar
Dennis
Member
Posts: 1066
Joined: Sun. Oct. 30, 2011 5:44 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: AHS/WOC55-multi-fuel/wood,oil,coal
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/stove size
Location: Pottstown,Pa

Post Sat. Dec. 08, 2012 4:22 pm

GrandpaWasaMiner wrote:As it is today, the wind is light, outside temps in the low 40's, and the Harman is churning at 350 degrees since 700AM. I am proud to announce my ACCURATE stack temp is 140 degrees, not the 250 as previously thought. I even went as far as to swap the matching thermometers and the readings matched... 350 stove / 140 stack.
The stack temp. is much better and inline where they should be.
Place both therometrers next to each other and compare them.
I've bumped and droped my only therometer and should buy another one,but with having the draft set with the manometer, "it is what it is" and theres nothing else to do about it.

EDIT: Be more conserned about setting your draft, the stack temp. will be what it is with the proper draft

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”