Emptying Ash Pan?

Post Reply
User avatar
spc
Member
Posts: 1802
Joined: Sat. Jan. 06, 2007 9:51 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: Rhode Island

Post Sat. Dec. 01, 2007 3:17 pm

Is it a good idea to turn off combustion fan for a few seconds when emptying ash pan to keep the dust down? With the coal-trol flipping the switch off on the control box which shuts everything down but only for a minute. Would there be any harm done? Thanks.

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5864
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Sat. Dec. 01, 2007 3:43 pm

I leave mine run, I just wait until it's done with the stoker....then change the ash pans.
I have my stokers/fans hooked to switches, so I can shut off if I want to.

xackley
Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun. Oct. 07, 2007 10:57 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Finger Lakes, NY

Post Sat. Dec. 01, 2007 4:20 pm

I have seen no problem with shutting off the switch for a minute or 2.


Jerry & Karen
Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon. Jan. 23, 2006 7:30 pm
Location: Berwick, pa
Contact:

Post Sat. Dec. 01, 2007 6:49 pm

Hi Steve,
Use the door cover to place on top of the ash pan when you remove it from the stove. This way you can carry it through the house without any problems. The door cover only comes with the Pioneer and Hearth.
Jer

User avatar
traderfjp
Member
Posts: 1798
Joined: Wed. Apr. 19, 2006 10:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing 3
Location: New York

Post Sat. Dec. 01, 2007 7:33 pm

I've turned off the combustion fan once and lost my fire so if you do I would suggest that you work fast. I always turn off any fans and the blower fans.

User avatar
gambler
Member
Posts: 1598
Joined: Mon. Jan. 29, 2007 12:02 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: western Pa

Post Sat. Dec. 01, 2007 9:22 pm

I turn off my coal-trol every time I empty the ash pan. This only takes 3-4 minutes and I have never had a problem with the fire going out. If the stove is at idle (min feed=3) I work a little quicker because that isn't much fire to leave burn for 3-4 minutes with no combustion air.


User avatar
ErinMarie
Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue. Sep. 25, 2007 10:50 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: DVC-500
Location: Phoenixville, PA

Post Sat. Dec. 01, 2007 11:10 pm

We have a Harman DVC-500 direct vent stoker and when we empty the ash we turn a knob to an "ash out" position which turns off the combustion fan. We've not had a problem with our fire going out and we've not had our stove much over an idle.

George
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri. Dec. 23, 2005 9:29 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Cast Consol 3 w/ coaltrol
Location: Boothwyn, Pa

Post Sun. Dec. 02, 2007 11:00 am

I have two ash pans, pull the full one out and slide the empty one in. About 15 to 20 seconds max. I leave the unit run. :)
George

User avatar
Dutchman
Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun. Apr. 01, 2007 8:01 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Magnum
Coal Size/Type: rice/anthracite
Location: Berks County, PA

Post Sun. Dec. 02, 2007 4:21 pm

I got a second ashpan for my Mag this year. My setup is plugged into an outlet on a switch, so All I do is outen the switch and let her cool for a few minutes, then flip-flop the ashpans and hit the switch again. Also turn off when I do my weekly fly-ash clean-out and then on when done, never had a problem.

Got the second pan idea from this forum, so thanks again fellas! :)

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”