Fresh Air Intake

User avatar
spc
Member
Posts: 1802
Joined: Sat. Jan. 06, 2007 9:51 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: Rhode Island

Post Mon. Nov. 26, 2007 4:22 pm

Do they make a fresh air intake that bolt to the combustion blower of my LL pioneer? Thanks.


User avatar
gambler
Member
Posts: 1598
Joined: Mon. Jan. 29, 2007 12:02 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: western Pa

Post Mon. Nov. 26, 2007 5:00 pm

I used a 3 inch galvanized starter collar on my pioneer. You can buy them at most hardware stores and they only cost a couple of bucks.

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5864
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Mon. Nov. 26, 2007 6:16 pm

Then just run a piece of 3-4" flexible Dryer vent (or equal) to an outside source.

User avatar
spc
Member
Posts: 1802
Joined: Sat. Jan. 06, 2007 9:51 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: Rhode Island

Post Mon. Nov. 26, 2007 7:19 pm

gambler wrote:I used a 3 inch galvanized starter collar on my pioneer. You can buy them at most hardware stores and they only cost a couple of bucks.
Do you bend the tabs in behind the blower plate or out over the plate? I also read the pipe can condensate & create a water puddle on the floor, is this true? Thanks.

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9903
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Tue. Nov. 27, 2007 9:23 am

It doesn't have to connect, it can end near the units draft intake. Even a few inch gap will feed it the fresh air. Not connecting it will have a small loss as excess air will enter the room. I don't think you will see any condensation, that is when warm air meets a cold surface, not cold air on a warm surface (toilet tank in the summer).

User avatar
mozz
Member
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon. Sep. 17, 2007 5:27 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 1982 AA-130 Steam
Location: Wayne county PA.

Post Tue. Nov. 27, 2007 9:37 am

Having done just that on my Pioneer LL, had to take a picture to show. Mine is about 1-2" away from the intake and you can feel it draw the air in. There is no cold air condensation I can see.
DCP03247.JPG
3" cold air intake LL Pioneer

User avatar
spc
Member
Posts: 1802
Joined: Sat. Jan. 06, 2007 9:51 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: Rhode Island

Post Tue. Nov. 27, 2007 3:09 pm

Thanks guys, A pic is worth a 1000 words. Mozz whats that cord that runs along the side of the stove going towards the front?

Jerry & Karen
Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon. Jan. 23, 2006 7:30 pm
Location: Berwick, pa
Contact:

Post Tue. Nov. 27, 2007 7:26 pm

Mozz,
Great job on the intake.
Jer


User avatar
spc
Member
Posts: 1802
Joined: Sat. Jan. 06, 2007 9:51 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: Rhode Island

Post Tue. Nov. 27, 2007 8:03 pm

Will a fresh air intake reduce stack temp?

Jerry & Karen
Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon. Jan. 23, 2006 7:30 pm
Location: Berwick, pa
Contact:

Post Tue. Nov. 27, 2007 8:09 pm

Steve,
You will not see a difference in temps. just less air being drawn out of your house.
Jer

User avatar
gambler
Member
Posts: 1598
Joined: Mon. Jan. 29, 2007 12:02 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: western Pa

Post Tue. Nov. 27, 2007 10:06 pm

If you are going to bring the fresh air pipe that close to the blower why not just attach it to the blower and use 100% outside air.

User avatar
mozz
Member
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon. Sep. 17, 2007 5:27 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 1982 AA-130 Steam
Location: Wayne county PA.

Post Wed. Nov. 28, 2007 1:19 pm

gambler wrote:If you are going to bring the fresh air pipe that close to the blower why not just attach it to the blower and use 100% outside air.
The reason I didn't attach it directly to the blower was: 1. Much easier not to hook up direct, would have to drill holes or make some kind of adapter for the combustion blower intake. 2. Seems to work fine as it is, there is quite a draw so that tells me it's working good. 3. Stove is brand new in warranty so didn't want to mess with it. 4. Easy to disconnect the entire intake to get to the motor to oil it and in the spring I plan on pulling the stove out a few feet to to clean and oil for it's summer hibernation. The reason I put the air intake in the first place was reading about it and it made sense that the house would be under a slight vacuum without it. My 1925 house does have lots of places for cold air to come in, didn't want it drawn in any more. I already have some vacuum as I am using a Panasonic 8" duct 70cfm fan in the bathroom to keep the moisture down. I was near the cellar door and I felt the cold air getting pulled in the kitchen under the door. To the other poster, that wire running out of the side is the fume switch, will shut the entire stove down if I lose my power veter for some reason.

jrn8265
Member
Posts: 930
Joined: Tue. Jul. 22, 2008 11:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker Koker
Stove/Furnace Model: Koker 160
Location: Near Coal Country, PA

Post Tue. Feb. 03, 2009 12:48 pm

Will a fresh air intake increase the draft or negative pressure in my stove?

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5864
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Wed. Feb. 04, 2009 11:28 am

Shouldn't change it too much, but always check it with a draft gauge.

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Wed. Feb. 04, 2009 11:34 am

mozz wrote:The reason I didn't attach it directly to the blower was: 1. Much easier not to hook up direct, would have to drill holes or make some kind of adapter for the combustion blower intake. 2. Seems to work fine as it is, there is quite a draw so that tells me it's working good. 3. Stove is brand new in warranty so didn't want to mess with it.
Foil tape would work fine & be easy to disconnect.


Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”