Looking for an Outdoor Coal Stoker

john17751

Post by john17751 » Tue. Feb. 07, 2012 12:08 am

I'm new to this and looking for two outdoor coal stokers, one for my home and the other for a cottage. Any ideas on where to find them, how much they cost, etc. The cottage has no heat now other than a huge fireplace. I would like to retro fit it with under floor hot water heat. Its about 1100 sq ft built in 1933. My home is about 1500sq ft and has oil forced air. Are there any outdoor coal stokers for hot air? Has anyone used underfloor hot water heat and if so how does it compare to baseboard or hot air? Any info would come in handy. Thanks John

LsFarm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland

Post by LsFarm » Tue. Feb. 07, 2012 5:09 am

Hello and welcome.

there are no outdoor coal stoker boilers or furnaces that are designed to stand alone outdoors like an outdoor wood boiler.

What many of us do, including myself is to build a small insulated building to hold a regular indoor stoker BOILER and a supply of coal inside.

Then use good insulated pex-al-pex tubing to run the hot water into the house. \

For a hot air system, use a water t0 air heat exchanger in the furnace ductwork [on top of the existing furnace] to provide hot air.

Start reading, and read and read some more, there are dozens of threads on the forum about the same subject.

Greg L

Rob R.
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Jr

Post by Rob R. » Tue. Feb. 07, 2012 5:37 am

Hi John - Do you intend to burn anthracite or bituminous coal? I have seen an outdoor coal boiler called the "Coalman", but it is intended to burn bituminous (soft coal) only, and is quite expensive...(probably way oversized for your 1500 sq. ft home).

Like Greg said, lots of guys put tradiational stoker boilers in outbuildings and run underground lines to the house.