Outside Combustion Air

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
User avatar
ginski
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed. Aug. 30, 2006 3:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: harman
Stove/Furnace Model: magnum stoker
Location: tobyhanna, pa

Post Tue. Nov. 06, 2007 2:32 am

hi jimbo,

here are the pics of the ducting I posted last season.

Magnum Stoker Settings for the Control Box

i connected the 6" from the mag to my existing 12" X 14" registers which have variable speed refrigeration condenser motors in them. the variable speed blowers increase the velocity of the stove air upstairs, plus also pull air from the basement ceiling. the variable speed allows me to keep the 2 floors the same temp, and works very well & quiet. I blocked 1/2 of the dist. air coming out of the front of the stove with bar magnets right in front of the 6" take-off, so some air is still blowing in the basement where my older son's room is.

why are you going to restrict the flow to 4" upstairs? I was a sheet metal mechanic in east orange, nj for 20 years & we would only come off the main with a smaller run to feed a bathroom or small utility room. go with the 6" upstairs (2 of them) and you'll be pleasantly surprised. the transition from 6" to 4" will only restrict the airflow & cause more air to come out the front of the stove. you'll be increasing the velocity but the volume will remain the same overall. just my 2 cents.

i'll keep you informed of the 'outside air' thing when I get it hooked up later in the week. I do feel a slight draft coming under the door leading to the garage in the basement...i suspect that will stop once I get this done. as far as the colder/denser air being better for the burn???...i dunno? it gives better lift for aircraft as opposed to hot/humid air...but my mag stays on the ground. I wish someone knew more about that.

tom
Attachments
blowerweb.jpg

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7385
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Tue. Nov. 06, 2007 8:37 am

IN a laboratory, you might be able to measure the difference in burning warm air vs denser cool air. We automaticly adjust for the slight differences by 'tweaking' the air control.

By far the greatest difference will be the unrestricted air supply to the stove. Instead of the stove having to draw air out of a tight house.

Greg L
Burning Pea/Buckwheat through an antique stoker [semi retired SSboiler],
Running an Axeman-Anderson 260M boiler burning Pea, About 150-250#per day
Farming, Fixing, Fabricating and Flying: 'spare time' what's that?

jimbo970
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat. Oct. 14, 2006 9:20 am

Post Tue. Nov. 06, 2007 10:12 pm

ginski,

Thanks frothe reply - so you are aying that 2 ducts at 6" will provide more heat to the upstairs vs 1 and keeping at 6" vs 4" will produce more heat to the area or ??

I see your setup and it looks as though you have a duct run to a square cut out into a wall with a fan mounted in the opening to suck the heat into the open space.?

User avatar
ginski
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed. Aug. 30, 2006 3:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: harman
Stove/Furnace Model: magnum stoker
Location: tobyhanna, pa

Post Wed. Nov. 07, 2007 2:04 am

jimbo,

i hope I did not mislead you. teeing off a duct & running it to 2 registers will not give you any more heat from the duct, you will just be distributing it more evenly in the upstairs room depending on the location of the floor registers. I only did that because I already had the floor registers with the fans there in front of my fireplace upstairs.

the picture I attached is of one of the ceiling registers in the basement supplying air to the 2nd floor by that fireplace.

do you have return air registers upstairs?

friggin cold in the poconos tonight*

tom


User avatar
ginski
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed. Aug. 30, 2006 3:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: harman
Stove/Furnace Model: magnum stoker
Location: tobyhanna, pa

Post Tue. Nov. 13, 2007 1:09 am

hooked up outside combustion air this past weekend.

house got 1 degree warmer on both floors & the draft under the door leading to the garage has stopped.

flex pipe is very cold & I was concerned about it sweating, but none has occured.

a worthwhile project!

tom
Attachments
stove1.jpg
stove2.jpg
stove3.jpg

jimbo970
Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat. Oct. 14, 2006 9:20 am

Post Tue. Nov. 13, 2007 6:38 am

Hey Ginski,

Where did you get a flange to fit the flex pipe? Did you remove the plate cover and leave the fan totally open inside the pipe or are you restricting it somehow?

User avatar
ginski
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed. Aug. 30, 2006 3:52 am
Stove/Furnace Make: harman
Stove/Furnace Model: magnum stoker
Location: tobyhanna, pa

Post Tue. Nov. 13, 2007 6:36 pm

go to lowes or home depot pvc section. lowes had the flex pipe.

restriction plate and cover was left intact (1/2 closed), I just used longer screws...the longer screws will not hit the squirrel cage.

tom

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”