Help Starting a Fire

Ed.A
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Channing III/ '94 Stoker II
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by Ed.A » Sun. Oct. 28, 2007 10:53 am

Ok, a couple of weeks ago it took me 2 hrs to light off the virgin Channing to get the paint burnt off. I figured since I was a newbie at coal fires and the fact that I was lighting off WET coal the 2 hrs at getting it to go was par for the course.

My problem now is I need to get it fired up today....I just spent a 1/2 hour with a Mapp Torch and I still can't get to fire up.

WTF am I doing wrong?

cheapheat

Post by cheapheat » Sun. Oct. 28, 2007 11:23 am

Ed have you read through the " lighting a stoker" thread at thetop of this catagory ithas everyones methods fairly clearly written out. Save the map gas for the bonfire and get yourself some lump charcoal or I prefer the coal mice personnally. pm me and I can call you and walk you through it if your desperate. Get a scrap of metal or cut up a coffee can like I did make a strip that will fit in the burn grate and hold your fire on the shelf that should be first thing. Get a nice fire going on the grate with somelump charcoal(small pieces) and newspaper or fire gel thiscan betricky since the channing doesnt have ashutoff for the combustion air I usually light the fire let it going a little then plug the stove in. Once that fire is established (hot orange coals) spread a half a soup can worth of coal on top and shut the door. Give it a couple minutes and spread some more coal on it at this point you should have a well established coal bed burning nicely..maybeadd a littlemore coal in a coupleofminutes and remove the metal strip at the end of the grate Goodluck Jim

Richard S.
Mayor
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite

Post by Richard S. » Sun. Oct. 28, 2007 11:27 am