Zoning a Coal Stove.

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
User avatar
EarthWindandFire
Member
Posts: 1457
Joined: Sat. Dec. 18, 2010 12:02 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Lil' Heater.
Other Heating: Oil Furnace and Kerosene Heaters.
Location: Connecticut

Post Mon. Aug. 22, 2011 7:20 am

I was just drawing up a schematic on the best method to integrate a Leisure Line Pioneer or Pocono into my existing furnace duct work. My current plan is to not run my oil furnace at all this winter and install a coal stove next to the oil furnace in the basement and tie into the existing heating ducts using the 12" duct top.

Could this simple cape style house be "zoned" using two thermostats?

The main thermostat would control the coal stove, heating the first floor. The 12" duct fan could be wired to a second thermostat to control the duct fan on/off when the temperature falls low enough on the second floor.

Has anyone thought about this or done it?
Mark

Inflation is the Grim Reaper to prosperity.
Printing money without a gold standard is the crime of counterfeiting.
The bitterness of poor quality lingers long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten.
Mr. McGee, don't make me angry. You wouldn't like me when I'm angry.
Si vis paceum, parabellum.

jim d
Member
Posts: 1271
Joined: Mon. Dec. 08, 2008 7:16 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: alaska//coaljck
Stove/Furnace Model: liberty// cj3
Location: taunton ma
Contact:

Post Mon. Aug. 22, 2011 9:46 am

i think it will work but you will get an over ride on the 1st floor w/out zoning dampers that are tt contolled


User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Mon. Aug. 22, 2011 1:09 pm

Should work, just make sure you have the correct temperature control circuit.
Normal thermostats run at 24VAC, most fans run at 110VAC, so you would have to have some type of relay box to control the fan.
I believe Honeywell makes a control box for that, that you can control 110vac circuit with a Remote standard thermostat.

FYI

http://www.ehow.com/how_7725902_wire-duct-fan-24v ... ostat.html
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

User avatar
gerry_g
Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu. Dec. 10, 2009 10:51 am
Coal Size/Type: rice
Other Heating: Electric, Propane
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer LE Top Vent
Location: Eastern MA

Post Thu. Sep. 15, 2011 10:54 am

EarthWindandFire wrote:I was just drawing up a schematic on the best method to integrate a Leisure Line Pioneer or Pocono into my existing furnace duct work. My current plan is to not run my oil furnace at all this winter and install a coal stove next to the oil furnace in the basement and tie into the existing heating ducts using the 12" duct top.
Depending upon your location and fire insurance and if the National Fire Code is enforced you may need fire dampers if the ducts penetrate any floor. I ran into this when I had mine inspected. Only listed devices (hot air with ducts) with a 165F (thank that's the number) automatic shut down. Coal stoves have no such limit. This is somewhat absurd IF the room with the stove is also tied into the furnace (conditioned space). One can't duct without fire dampers but can have open stairwells! This part of the code is not written for private homes but does not exempt them.

Also, your main furnace will not like any reverse pressure. I want the central system ready for backup. Avoiding heat being wasted in the return ducts is an issue as well. Zoning most central systems is also problem. Only $$$ variable output furnaces zone well. Altering anything that can change furnace pressures too much can interfere with it and easily violate the National Fire code. (An airflow restriction in the code)

I've decided to install a separate distribution system (with fire dampers). I've been trying to find a high velocity air mover so I can use very small ducts. I haven't found one yet, all I have found seem to be built into a high velocity central unit.

A big time problem, getting it to work and not voiding your fire insurance! Thus I'm doing a 2nd distribution system. The only thing that will make my inspector happy and thus my fire insurance valid.

I'd sure like to be able to use min-ducts, just need to find an air mover!

gerry
Check your CO detector - It's nasty to wake up dead

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”