An Intro and Looking for Input

JeepinPete
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by JeepinPete » Fri. Mar. 25, 2011 4:57 pm

Hi guys, my name is Pete. I am new to the coal scene, but after this winter's oil bills, I don't plan on keeping it that way. I've been doing a fair amount of reading of this forum, learning all that I can. My house is a bit unique, so I'd love to hear any ideas and inputs you guys may have.

Anyway, my house is a 1850's vintage stone farmhouse. It has an addition, put on around 1950, that doubled the size of the house (roughly 30x30, two stories plus a finished attic). When they build the addition, they managed to find the original source of stone, so the addition isn't noticeable unless you are looking for it. The original walls are 18" thick solid stone, and the addition is 12" of stone, then framed out with 2x4's and sheet rocked. The attic is well insulated with fiberglass, not sure what is in the wall of the addition, and needless to say, there is no insulation in the original structure. Original windows all around, with storm windows. Believe it or not, the place is not drafty.

The current heating "system" is a bit of joke. There is a oil fired furnace in the basement, with duct work running to three registers. Two in the living room (which sit above the cellar), and one into the kitchen (1st floor of the addition). That's it. We use electric space heaters upstairs to heat the bedrooms.

I've been pondering what to do with the HVAC in this house since we bought it five years ago. I've considered a heat pump, geothermal or otherwise, to get heat and AC in one shot. What complicates matters is the way the house is built. Since the house was built in two sections, there is a 18" thick stone wall running down the center of it (the old original exterior wall). Makes it difficult to run duct work :shock: