What a B@LL Buster!!! -Or- Keystoker Is in Da House!

europachris

Post by europachris » Sun. Sep. 30, 2007 5:54 pm

Well, today was the day I've been dreading for 7 months. I now have my Keystoker sitting in my basement. I couldn't put it off any longer, and had to just get on my pair of cajones and move the sucker into the house.

In reality, it was easier than I expected, but I always fear the worst. But, it took just renting an appliance dolly, some furniture pads, and the help of my next door neighbor who is fortunately stronger than my 6'0", 168 lb. frame. Further assisting was my wonderfully patient wife, who also could kick my butt easily in spite of being 'only' 5'7".

Anyway, I just strapped the stove to the dolly after wrapping it with a furniture pad. It had to go up 3 steps plus a 90 degree turn to get into the house from the garage, move through the laundry room, several turns to the top of the stairs, and then down the stairs to the basement (all finished) with a 180 deg. turn halfway down. My visions of the stove going through the wall were unfounded due to some excellent patience (again) by my wife. So, the three of us got it down to the basement without any injuries to either body or household. I did knock about another pound of ash out of the top recesses of the stove again. I think this stove was taken out because it was likely clogged solid with fly ash. Now I have to put it all back together!

I'll post up some pics after I shrink them down a little. Gotta have some dinner now!

Chris

europachris

Post by europachris » Sun. Sep. 30, 2007 6:09 pm

Here's a few pics. The camera doesn't do the charcoal color justice. It's a very rich finish, with a hint of metallic in it, a very 'steely' grey/black color.

Now I have to go pick up the 54"x54" corner hearth pad and then get the stove up on it and the venting setup with the 5" core bit through the concrete wall.

Chris

Attachments

Dsc03424sm.jpg

Pic of the stove in the basement