Harman Magnum Stoker Feed Fork Problem

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
Mrs Stoker
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat. Jan. 22, 2011 1:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: harman
Stove/Furnace Model: magnum stoker

Post Sat. Jan. 22, 2011 1:54 pm

We read to squeeze together the feed forks on the our Harman Magnun Stoker as they can spread and not feed enough coal. My husband has had to do this a few times due to our fire doing out. We just aren't sure how close together these can be. Is there a measurement to go by? Thank you

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Sat. Jan. 22, 2011 2:08 pm

you mean the fork around the stepper motor that makes it feed? They should be parallel or pretty close.

Something doesn't sound correct...you should not have to mess with it unless something is jammed or not working correctly or misaligned, broken, etc...

are you getting clinkers, chunks fused together of coal? Is your coal Wet? Is there anything on the grates that might catch the coal getting stuck, burrs, etc...?

this part - The Fork - Item #6? See attached?
Attachments
pusher.JPG
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

golfball
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed. Apr. 01, 2009 2:01 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Magnum stoker
Location: Tunkhannock Pa.

Post Sat. Jan. 22, 2011 2:14 pm

1" 3/4 inside to inside got this from a dealer last week.


Mrs Stoker
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat. Jan. 22, 2011 1:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: harman
Stove/Furnace Model: magnum stoker

Post Sat. Jan. 22, 2011 2:28 pm

Thank you for the replies. We did have to use some slightly wet coal and then had the problem. Will check the distance between the forks and go from there. thanks again

User avatar
RAYJAY
Member
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun. Nov. 09, 2008 7:06 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: VAN WERT - 600 VA HOT WATER
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: HARMAN- MAGUM STOKER
Coal Size/Type: BUCKWHEAT ON BOTH
Other Heating: NG BOILER
Location: UNION DALE PA

Post Sat. Jan. 22, 2011 5:22 pm

golfball wrote:1" 3/4 inside to inside got this from a dealer last week.
was the dealer fisher stoves ???? lol

On the fork you can readjust it a couple of times but after a while the metal will get soft and then you do have to replace it

Jeff
Been burning coal since 1979 ........ yep I'm old ..............

Mossy-Oaks
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue. Jan. 01, 2008 5:40 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Magnum Stoker
Location: Sinking Spring, PA

Post Sat. Jan. 22, 2011 9:41 pm

If you have been using wet coal, that is most likely your problem. I just had the same problem this week with my Mag. If the coal is really wet, it will not feed well in the Mag Stoker. Damp coal will feed fine, but wet causes feeding problems. Wet coal will want to stick together and not fall down to the pusher block for the stoker. Try using drier coal and see if the problem goes away.


Mrs Stoker
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat. Jan. 22, 2011 1:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: harman
Stove/Furnace Model: magnum stoker

Post Sun. Jan. 23, 2011 9:19 am

We have been drying our coal ever since it happened the first time it happened and cleaned out the pusher but the the fork still spread some. I have been using extra ash pans filled with wet/damp coal and placing them on top the stove to dry. Works great and is dry within an hour or so. thanks again

rkemmerer
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun. Jan. 06, 2013 9:20 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Magnum

Post Sun. Jan. 06, 2013 9:21 pm

Thanks for advice about the spread forks. Mine were almost 3" apart because of previous binding and I had no idea. It is running great now.

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”